We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Fisherman’s Wharf)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save
Ranked #55 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Avoid the harassment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I booked a hotel in san francisco for a night 25th dec - 25th dec with name holiday inn. I reached to the hotel and checked in comfortably. Around 11 pm someone knocked at the door and claimed its his room as he was holding the key with same number. In the middle of the night this is quite annoying and too disturbing. I said the person to check with reception and then after an hour when we are slept again then got a call from reception asking when we checked in etc etc. which i think is their responsibility of the hotel staff to know about rather disturbing the guest. In the morning, front desk wasted our another half an hour in trying to figure out all this and realizes that they accommodated us on the behalf of some other person and so will be charging our credit card even though it is paid to expedia already. This is such a big harassment to chose hotel via expedia and face so much of problems and disturbance. Hotel doesnt know themselves that who they are dealing with, not good enough even to verify the itienary of the guest. This is quite bad on the behalf of hotel as well as expedia to recommend such pathetic hotels. This is just the management part. On the facilities side, around 2 am the thermostat starting making noises after every few seconds and trust me any noise is disturbing that time. Hope expedia can help us to fix this bad experience and wastage of money

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VikCeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear VikCeo,

Thank you so much for your recent comments. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    1,038
    339
    66
    41
See reviews for
726
827
83
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We recently stayed here for 4 nights in November. After reading some of the reviews here I was a little concerned about what to expect, but I shouldn't have worried as it was perfectly fine. The location was great just a few minutes walk to the cable car line, shops, restaurants, bike hire and piers. We found the hotel very clean and reasonably quiet. The rooms were a standard double bed hotel size, but still manageable for a family of 4 with bags. The free breakfast was a great start to our day and there was also free wifi in the lobby. We didn't have a car but found it easy to get around using taxi's, buses and a ride down town on the cable car. My family absolutely loved San Francisco and can't wait to return one day. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in the Fisherman's area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jules65Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We booked this hotel based on review here. It was really easy to find and honestly so much closer to the wharf the I expected. Think I was expecting vegas size blocks. This hotel is so close to the wharf, has a safeway and 2 walgreens within a block or two.

Things I liked about this hotel. Location was perfect, we could walk quickly to wharf. Check in was quick and friendly, breakfast was busy but a good selection of items including pancake machine. The beds were comfy ( a bit harder then mine at home), shower was always hot with good pressure. Blacked otr shades, fairly quiet street besides the 6am food service delivery honking. computer/printer was easy to use, quick and worked perfectly.

Things that could be improved. We booked this because free Wi-Fi was important to us. What I didn't know was it is NOT in the room and only available in the lobby. Also the tv worked fine but such a small variety of channels was pathetic. After a long day of touring around a few more good channels would be great. If you love ESPN it was 4 of the 20 channels. I knew parking was high but valet was the only option and by the time it was all said and done it was over $50 per night. (the room was 100). Note-there is a Hertz rental office one block down.

Only one incident at the hotel was our next door neighbors decided to have a party and start smoking cigars. The smoke instantly flowed in our room. YUK!! However after calling the front desk they immediately address it and even put a ozone machine to clean out the air quickly. By the time we got up in the am you couldn't smell it at all. The hotels says $250 fine for smoking in the room.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1cutemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed here for four nights towards the end of December. We were thrilled to be able to walk to all that Fisherman's Wharf/Pier 39 have to offer. We did have to cab to the Golden Gate Bridge though. The hotel was definitely not the most luxurious, but it was clean and spacious. I was disappointed that we had no view whatsoever - many of the rooms face inward to an empty "courtyard." So we couldn't see anything except other people's rooms, and therefore had to keep the curtains shut the whole time. The free breakfast, though not gourmet by any means, was enough to last us through lunch without breaking the bank at a nearby cafe every morning. Like someone else mentioned below, the towels in the bathroom are paper thin. We had them replaced every single day because they just wouldn't dry before the next shower! Other than that, we got a great night's sleep every night with no noise to complain about.

Overall, for a grad student on multiple-night stay with a limited budget, this place was a great find. It also seemed to be popular for families with children. But if I had more money, I'd stay at a higher end place!

Room Tip: Request exterior-facing rooms if you want something to look at. Request interior-facing rooms if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This hotel is perfectly located at Fisherman's Wharf. The staff was cordial and efficient. The room was clean with extra pillows on each bed. The breakfast was just ok. There was a lot of variety, but the biscuits and the gravy were cold to luke warm. All in all, we would definitely stay there again. The breakfast/lunch place next door (Hollywood Cafe) serves an excellent lunch and breakfast for a reasonable price. There is a Safeway store a couple of blocks away if you want to pick up some snacks for the room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GPW898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
Level Contributor
171 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Was there last week.

Chech in was fast + little gift as priority club member,

Great location for wharfs, marina, presidio, fine art museum and Russian Hill visiting - little bit far from Golden Gate park,Mission & Castro.
But the bus & street car (Mason) are just the next corner and there is a lot of bike rental all around.

I had a mini-suite with a king size bed, a sofa, a wet bar, micro-wave and mini fridge.
And yes it's a little dated - old style big 27" tv, very old carpet and old "melamine" counter.

My suite was on the first floor, far from the elevator with an interior view - the window faced other rooms in a kind of courtyard. No view to the sky !
Consequence: I had to close the curtains for my entire stay. My room was sooooo dark !!!! ” But on the other side, it was really quiet.

The wifi doesn't work in the room but the free internet works fine if you connect your laptop using the internet cable that is provided in the room.

The free breakfast was ok. No problem finding a place for me to sit even at different times.

There is a Trader's Joe and a World market on Jones 2 corners (Mason) from the hotel.
Fresh food, prepared meals and lot of wine.

Room Tip: If you don't want feeling depressed - ask for an external view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NRRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestwood, Kentucky
Level Contributor
244 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Staff was very helpful from check-in to check-out. They merged two reservations into one for a seamless stay. Awesome area. Can walk to nearly everything. Short walk to street cars or cable cars for everywhere else. Good dining nearby. Recommend a game at ATT Park during baseball stadium. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
#28 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,736 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherma...
#51 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,116 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf ...
#53 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 509 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Whar...
#33 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Address: 550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#77 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, reserve a stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf. At a top option among San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, delight in a locale with easy access to attractions including: Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz and Bay Cruise Ferries while cable cars nearby provide transportation to Union Square, Chinatown and Moscone Convention Center. Experience the Bay City from the comfort of our San Francisco lodging. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast at our downtown San Francisco, California hotel before exploring the area. At day s end, retreat to our San Francisco hotel and unwind in a spacious room appointed with our plush Simple Smart Bedding Collection and complimentary Wi-Fi. Upgrade to our San Francisco suites providing wet bars with microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary amenities include local phone calls, a business center and a fitness center. Travel San Francisco and book your room at Holiday Inn Express Fisherman s Wharf hotel for unrivaled comfort and value. Check our specials for superb savings on San Francisco, California vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Fishermans Wharf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing