We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“good location and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Ranked #54 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Bet Haemek - Israel
Level Contributor
135 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“good location and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Next to all the main attractions is a simply but clean H. Inn express.
Very busy hotel; too busy t breakfast but despite all the people coming and going friendly staff.
They gave us advice for two excellent restaurants nearby and i could store our luggage on the day of departure.

good price for this location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rudie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    1,064
    347
    69
    41
See reviews for
759
839
85
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Woodland Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel is 2 short blocks from Fishermans Wharf. The staff was friendly and helpful, booking tours etc. The room itself was clean and comfortable. We did not have a car, but the valet parking looked expensive. There was no wifi in the room, but, free in the lobby. The breakfast buffet was great. It was not crowded when we were there, and there were plenty of places to sit. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a place to stay in that area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We repeatedly come back to this hotel to stay - Why? The staff is friendly and very helpful. The rooms are comfortable and clean and don't show their age in the 10+ years we have been coming here. You can't beat the location - easy to transportation and great restaurants including the Hollywood Cafe next door for hearty breakfast. Internet service in the room via Ethernet is fast, reliable and free which is good enough for me - I'm here on vacation; who want's to check work email so often anyway! Oh and the bonus - a great place around the corner for "Reflexology" after a long few days of walking!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Great location. Two blocks from the piers. Friendly staff, very helpful with information. Free breakfast buffet, good choices, some variety on different days.. clean rooms. need free WIFI in rooms. wifi available in the lobby only. Well worth the money.

Room Tip: ask for outside room. inside courtyard not much of view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kismet19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Scituate, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is a great hotel if you're staying in the City. The location is great with easy public transportation nearby. The rooms are large and clean, the beds comfortable, in-room WiFi free, and a great free breakfast! The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this to anyone and will stay there again.

Room Tip: No need to rent a car if you're staying here - public transportation is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GleanerGardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
180 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel and stayed here primarily because of the reviews. That being said, the one drawback was that we were located in a room without a view, unless you wanted to see the opposite building about 15 feet away. If you stay here, make sure they put you up in a room with a view of anything but what we had. The room was clean & comfortable as were the beds. The fan in the bathroom was a waste - it made so much noise and didn't even keep the steam out. And how about a flat panel TV? Breakfast (included) ended a bit too early for my taste. Housekeeping staff was a pleasure - always very friendly. I would stay here again but would certainly look elsewhere first.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Level Contributor
144 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Holiday Inn Express brand offers similar experience no matter what city or country you visit. It makes the stay stress-free :) Bed and pillows very comfortable, shower, bathroom amenities sufficient. The front desk staff was very helpful, accomodating and friendly. The free breakfast bar
offers good quantity, variety and reasonable quality food choices. The only complaint was the view from the room. The curtains must be closed at all times unless you like staring at another rooms only a few feet from your window! No view at all and no privacy if curtains open. I was on the Priority Club floor 4th across from elevators.
Not sure if the specific hotel or Holiday Inn corporate is responsible for answering email enquiries but I enquired twice and never received a response. The offer from the website was not used or mentioned so probably outdated or?? Poor customer service as I had to book alternate plans on my own despite the website offer of discounts.
For the most part highly recommend the convenient location only blocks away from Fisherman's Wharf and many stores and amenities. You are also able to use the Holiday Inn facilities only 1 block away.

Room Tip: If you want a view other than a wall ask for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johncrawcarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherma...
#52 of 236 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 935 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
#32 of 236 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#46 of 236 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,238 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Whar...
#39 of 236 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 675 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf ...
#58 of 236 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Address: 550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#77 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, reserve a stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf. At a top option among San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, delight in a locale with easy access to attractions including: Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz and Bay Cruise Ferries while cable cars nearby provide transportation to Union Square, Chinatown and Moscone Convention Center. Experience the Bay City from the comfort of our San Francisco lodging. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast at our downtown San Francisco, California hotel before exploring the area. At day s end, retreat to our San Francisco hotel and unwind in a spacious room appointed with our plush Simple Smart Bedding Collection and complimentary Wi-Fi. Upgrade to our San Francisco suites providing wet bars with microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary amenities include local phone calls, a business center and a fitness center. Travel San Francisco and book your room at Holiday Inn Express Fisherman s Wharf hotel for unrivaled comfort and value. Check our specials for superb savings on San Francisco, California vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Fishermans Wharf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing