We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Ranked #52 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Every Minute”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We Booked The Holiday Inn Express almost a year before travelling for our vacation to San Francisco to celebrate our 37th wedding anniverary..
In the meantime I had read many reports on this hotel, some good, some not so good so we arrived with certain reservations but from the moment we approached the check in desk these were dispelled.
We were given a warm welcome and a room on the third floor, right over the reception area and overlooking The Hyatt Hotel over the road. The road could be busy at times but any noise that came from that did not bother us in the slightest. Our room was generous in proportion, very clean and tidy and we were delighted with it. The bathroom was of a ten out of ten standard.
We made full use of the free Wifi in the public area's on an evening and although the room only offered up a wired connection, we did not find that an inconvenience, especially after I discovered the laptop I purchased especially for this trip had not got an ethernet socket!!! There were two Complimentary desk top computers in a small business centre off the lobby, one for dedicated booking in online, for return air travel. There is also printers wired up to these.

The breakfast on offer suited us just fine, plenty of choice and items replenished regularly. I even saw some peoples special requests being catered for, boiled eggs, for instance. We got seated, without a problem, in the restaurant every day although Sunday we waited for a few minutes as this turned out to be the busiest day. To be expected with so much happening in the city.

The public areas were well presented and comfortable and all the staff we encountered pleasant and helpful.

There were to two elevators serving the upper floors. One morning one of those was out of commision but when we returned later in the day it had been returned to service.

The position of this hotel is just away from the hustle and bustle of the wharf but with all amenities close by within an easy walk.

Overall I can think of no negatives to say about this hotel and when we return to San Francisco, withoiut hesitation I shall look The Holiday Inn Express up first.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Billytwosheds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    830
    1,144
    376
    71
    43
See reviews for
832
898
89
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel In August, 2012 for four nights. The location is close to the cable cars. trolleys to downtown, and the wharf where there are so many great restaurants. The room was quiet. The computers in the lobby were very helpful. The breakfast had a great selection of food and drinks. It could get crowded, but everyone was cooperative. The helpstaff at breakfast sometimes seemed to be in a hurry to close down before time was up. We will stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spoon35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel which the main thing it has going for it is he location. The staff on check in were lovely, they had noted it was our honeymoon and arranged a room with a bay view and a bottle of wine, a nice touch! The rooms are nothing special, but who is going to be in there room here much anyway.

Clean and tidy with coffee facilities etc. the breakfast is busy, yes but what do you expect when it is free! There is a choice of juices and tea & coffee, there are pancakes which you make in a little machine, there are some cinnamon cakes which were way too strong for me but just my personal choice and a choice of about four or five cereals. It addition there were these sausage things a bit like a McDonald sausage and egg muffin type sausage, crispy bacon and scrambled eggs which I do believe were like a powdered egg but ok. You can make toast or bagels and there is butter, jam and Philadelphia. So basically enough to keep you going for a while and if you have to wait a few moments a table so be it.

The holiday inn down the road charge $30 for two coffee and one full breakfast and two slices of toast I overheard someone say so bear that in mind when it's busy.

So out of the hotel and left or right will take you to everything you need, there is a supermarket two minutes away, a Denny's one minute away and all the sights of Fishermans wharf five minutes away. You can get to Ghiradelli square in about 10 walking along shops and restaurants and then get the cable cars.

The walk to the Alcatraz ferry is about 15 minutes I would say, just past pier 39 which is about 10 minutes. Plenty of choices to eat and drink, and no worries about walking back to the hotel late its no different to London in fact probably safer!

The hotel has Internet access for boarding passes and a wide selection of leaflets for trips etc. I believe it has valet parking at around $25 but I'm not 100% as we didn't use it.

There is no bar of restaurant here, so be aware if you plan to pop back for a drink etc.

All in all a great value hotel in a perfect location and would highly recommend and return!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Ballycotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights and found it perfect for accessing Fisherman's wharf, the tram and Hop on Hop off buses. Rooms are spacious and well maintained. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly and the breakfast quite sufficient for the all in price. WiFi is easily accessible in the public area but it would be good to have it in the rooms especially when you aren't feeling well. Lots of eating areas close by as well as a supermarket and gourmet food shop.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panda055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

I stayed here last week with my partner for 6 days in a Run of House king bed room. If you're looking for a hotel in an excellent location that's close to Fishermans Wharf and public transport, this is your place. Only a 2-3 minute walk before you're on Pier 39 with great restaurants, entertainment, typical touristy shopping and much more. An even shorter walk will get you to the beginning of the cable car line, which you can hop on and hop off where you please. I recommend getting a 24 hr pass for $14 or a 3 day 'passport' for $21, and both will allow you to ride any Muni transport including busses unlimited for whichever time frame you've picked. Our room was kept clean and tidy compliments to the housecleaners each day. The only thing that stopped me from giving five stars was that there was no mini fridge in the room, which makes it hard if you want to buy food or drinks to have while in your room. And the other reason was because there was only wifi in the lobby area, and only the dial up connection in the room, which isn't great when you have just an iPad, which in turn makes it a bit inconvenient if you just want to 'quickly' check something online. Other than that, we are pretty happy with the hotel and what was on offer.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Courtenay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Our second time staying here. This time for only 5 nights. We arrived at 1.00am in the morning to find that the three of us had been put into a room with just one double bed. A portable bed was provided but no apology. This was sorted out the next day. Hotel is very close to Fishermans wharf and even walking distance to Union square. The room was clean and spacious and very quiet. A good free breakfast with a good selection of food both hot and cold.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moonlight1633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have previously stayed around Union Square in San Francisco and decided to stay down at the Wharf. This hotel is in a great position, very close to Fisherman's Wharf and also therefore Close to Pier 39 and Ghiradelli square etc. The room was spacious and we had a huge bed (we went for a King) .
The inclusive breakfast was excellent. You don't expect much from an American inclusive breakfast, e.g. coffee and donuts, but they had cooked breakfasts, toast making, pancake making, sticky buns, and lots of good juice and coffee. Excellent value!
The only issue was they only had WiFi in recpeption. The rooms had ethernet cables, but i the days of smarthphones and iPad and tablets, we don't have ethernet ports, so you had to go to reception to use the Wifi. Minor point but probably not enough to drop it below give 5 points.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ecuyetx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#58 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,024 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Address: 550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#76 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, reserve a stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf. At a top option among San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, delight in a locale with easy access to attractions including: Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz and Bay Cruise Ferries while cable cars nearby provide transportation to Union Square, Chinatown and Moscone Convention Center. Experience the Bay City from the comfort of our San Francisco lodging. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast at our downtown San Francisco, California hotel before exploring the area. At day s end, retreat to our San Francisco hotel and unwind in a spacious room appointed with our plush Simple Smart Bedding Collection and complimentary Wi-Fi. Upgrade to our San Francisco suites providing wet bars with microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary amenities include local phone calls, a business center and a fitness center. Travel San Francisco and book your room at Holiday Inn Express Fisherman s Wharf hotel for unrivaled comfort and value. Check our specials for superb savings on San Francisco, California vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Fishermans Wharf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing