We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Ranked #55 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Holiday Inn Express SFO”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Great great location. Breakfast buffet included was very convenient. We had an OK room. Had to flip the mattress. They need to be changed. They forgot to make the room up one day. Had to call for towels. No great views because it's not a tall building but the location and access to everything in walking distance was worth it. Great.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LMD241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    817
    1,129
    370
    71
    42
See reviews for
815
890
89
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Stayed here last week for 3 nights, the location is very, very good, just a few minutes to Pier 39 and Fishermans wharf. The check-in was smooth, no issues. We got a "suite" due to our priority status and ended up with a room facing the hotel across the street. We asked for a water-view room and the front desk said they don't have any water view rooms???? strange one that considering we were moved to room 470 and it had an outstanding view!!! Try to get rooms *70 thru *89 for water views. I would imagine the third floor had a water view but second floor would be out of luck.

The rooms were standard rooms with two smallish beds and once crappy old TV. How bout it Holiday Inn, flat screens are rather cheap nowadays. Room was clean and overall the staff was very nice. The breakfast is a madhouse, get there early. It's not great but the coffee was strong and they had yoghurt, fresh fruit, danish, cereal, etc along with eggs and meats. Nothing special but not bad either. It's all about location. 1-2 blocks to Pier 39, Fishermans Wharf, Ghiradelli Square, cable cars. You can catch buses to Golden Gate bridge one block away so leave the car at the airport, you don't need a car in San Francisco. Get a MUNI-pass and you can ride the cable cars, buses, rail, streetcars all for one low price. The cable cars are $6.00 one way so might as well get the pass. It was $14 for one day and I'm guessing $28 for 3 days. Can't go wrong.

For out of towners, make sure you book Alcatraz ahead of time, it sells out every day. It's a fantastic tour and is definitely worthwhile. I grew up here and know the area but a map from the front desk is worth grabbing, it shows the bus routes, etc and like I said, if you like to walk its a perfect location. There are a Safeway and Trader Joe's grocery a block or two away along with a Walgreens for medicines, etc. Overall a great stay. Just wished the swimming pool had a hot tub, needed one after all the walking!!!!

Room Tip: On the third or fourth floors ask for rooms 470 through 489, 370-389, all water views.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinEvertonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Stayed here with the family (2 adults +2kids) and the location is excellent. Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square all within minutes. The hotel offers a tasteless breakfast (the only thing remotely redeeming is the pancake robot- but you need to queuefor that)
We were told that only fixed wire Internet worked in our room and wifi was only available via the lobby. No problem- turned my laptop into a wifi spot and everyone was happy. Staff were professional and courteous. They helped us store our bags on the last day as we had a late flight - which is basically their office)

There's a Denny's in the next building and Walgreens a block away. 5mins from Lombard street and a large number of tours available.

Overall, great location which can't be beaten,

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Intrepid08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

After many hours of searching, we chose this hotel for it's location. It was a good decision. We arrived early (9:00 AM) and were tired from our early flight. To our surprise, our room was ready and we were checked in. The room was average size and very clean. The staff is very polite, helpful and nice. We were able to walk to Fisherman's Warf and take in the sights. Several reviews mention noise, but we didn't have any issues. I would be happy to stay at this location again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyndi253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

I stayed for 4 nights on business. Brilliant location by Fisherman's wharf. I would highly recommend it for both leisure and business. It is within walking distance from the wharf where you can walk and have crab and lobster and from the cable car that can take oyu straght to union square through a fantastic scenic route! The breakfast was basic but nice yet on rush hours its a bit difficult to find space. The really negative part of the hotel is the stupid parking prices of 45$ a night. At this room rate + parking you will find better hotels i SF that offer parking for free. So its value for money if you dont drive but if you drive be prepared to pay the spicy price for parking lot. The receptionist was the sweetest girl, very funny character and loved her willingness to serve! I would visit again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manos_LHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GENEVA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel June 10 thru the 12th and had a great time. The location was perfect for walking to the cable car turnaround and to fishermans wharf. The breakfast was excellant and Ami at the front desk gave us a great tip for getting tickets for the Alcatraz tour that we missed the night before. I would recommend this hotel for anyone visiting San Francisco. Thank you Holiday Inn for exceding our expectations

Room Tip: If you missed your Alcatraz tour or its sold out on line, they do let you sign up at the pier for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flip8683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ware hertfordshire
Level Contributor
216 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

This hotel is within walking distance of nearly all the attractions you want to see.If not nearby trolley buses and cable cars will convey you .The staff are helpfull and friendly and the room was excellent.The free breakfast was good but not a really great choice.But i would recomend this hotel to anyone

Room Tip: Breafast time could be busy so either miss the rush at 8 or get up early
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank displeased064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#53 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,994 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Address: 550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#76 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, reserve a stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf. At a top option among San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, delight in a locale with easy access to attractions including: Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz and Bay Cruise Ferries while cable cars nearby provide transportation to Union Square, Chinatown and Moscone Convention Center. Experience the Bay City from the comfort of our San Francisco lodging. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast at our downtown San Francisco, California hotel before exploring the area. At day s end, retreat to our San Francisco hotel and unwind in a spacious room appointed with our plush Simple Smart Bedding Collection and complimentary Wi-Fi. Upgrade to our San Francisco suites providing wet bars with microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary amenities include local phone calls, a business center and a fitness center. Travel San Francisco and book your room at Holiday Inn Express Fisherman s Wharf hotel for unrivaled comfort and value. Check our specials for superb savings on San Francisco, California vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Fishermans Wharf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing