We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid”
Review of Hotel North Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel North Beach
Ranked #193 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Asia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Avoid”
Reviewed August 5, 2008

I was very disappointed with the hotel. The staff are RUDE. I have not encounter such rudest people in the world. The hallway is very scary and dark and smelly. Room is small and the surrounding area is noisy. There are lots of homeless people around the area and some could even walk in to the lobby. The facade is always on renovation.

I was told by the guard that this is more like an apartment for long term stay than a hotel. The guard also tell me that "you better decide to stay or to go somewhere else, afterall we are paying and we should pay for what we like".

To stay or not to stay? If you think you cant afford to pay any extra, by all means you stay here. It's a very convenient area but not safe. Not recommend to ladies travellers.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Scary Hallway
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank DGPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    69
    110
    56
    66
See reviews for
17
120
91
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2008

Choose that hotel was the best idea i've had. It's so cheap (around 25$ per night), i've got my own room with a good bed, two lights, a fridge, a microwave, a washbasin, a desk, a huge mirror, a big window, a medecinechest, a tv (70channels), a closet, drawers, your own phone... It's not really spacious but, considering the weather, i spend a lot of time in my room and i appreciate it. You can fix the radiator as you want, there is a lot of plugs. It's really clean, each day there are 2 women who change the towels and clean the room (they're so nice that they've ask me when do i prefer they come, and how often). There is a lot of restrooms and bathrooms, always cleans and spacious. When i arrived someone from the staff helped me to carry my luggages. The entire staff was not so nice at the beggining but now they're cool, all the night they've got a security person. Each room has it own mail-box. There is a cheap laundry room in the building. And the place is really cool, it's between the financial area with all the shops, subways/BART and everything, and North Beach, a really nice italian area. The location of the hotel is close to china town, but safe. The only thing is that the people inside are not very friendly but who care, if you need to, go to the club med. And you have to pay the entire price of your stay when you arrive. I don't know about the others rooms, but the third floor is really cool, and i've got the sun each morning by the window (when the weather is cool).

  • Liked — Quiet - Clean - Comfortable - Autonomy
  • Disliked — People inside not friendly
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank French_Jess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2007

I stayed at the St. Paul twice for 4 nights each period while I was in between apartment leases. Booked another site for the second time, but was unhappy with it and returned to the St. Paul. The hotel is nothing lavish, but certainly met my needs in terms of basic accomodations and value for the money. You will not find a better place (location, private rooms, etc.) in SF. I rarely saw other guests or the resident crazies that you can get in other budget hotels.

Hotel: Basic appointments, relatively small but clean rooms, excellently maintained shower and bath areas, microwave, fridge and TV with many channels, wifi and laundry facilities. Renovations are underway with the lobby, restrooms/showers, and some guest rooms completed. Ask about rooms 18, 27, 28 if you would like a more tranquil spot (not facing the street). These rooms have also been updated.

Location: In Northbeach, bordering the Financial district. Bus stop right outside and easy walking distance to whatever you need.

Staff: Always more than friendly... thanks to Tommy, Pauline, and the rest! Worked to get me a quiet room with good internet access.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank boileralum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2007

I came to SF for a conference and stayed in the hotel for 10 nights. My main priority was to find a cheap hotel near the conference venue and close to the centre. The hotel is probably not the 5* and you most probably won't get Thai massage from the personnel but if you need a place to sleep, to keep your stuff and relax for cheap, then the place is perfect. Lots of shops and restaurants nearby. There is a supermarket about 5-10 minutes walk from the place. There is was a microwave in the room so I could warm up my sandwiches etc. The bathrooms are shared. That could be an inconvenience for some, but for this price I am ready to tolerate it.

  • Liked — location, fridge, microwave
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank samppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2007

The place wasn't as bad as some of the reviews say. If you're looking for a really cheap place to stay and don't really care to much about the room then its great. I'm young and wasn't concerned about spending time in a room. The room was small and outdated but it worked. I didn't really see other people very often either. The bathrooms seemed to have been remodeled and there were plenty on each floor. Overall the place was fine and it was in a great location. I would definitely recommend it to any students or young travelers.

  • Liked — The price
  • Disliked — Small room and stiff bed
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kford8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2007

Folks, beware this is basically a residential hotel complete with the nuts that inhabit such a hotel. I was put in a room next to two boom box bozos who boomed their music all hours of day and night. The staff could not handle them. There was construction work being done in the room above me and next to me. The walls felt as though they would cave in. The staffers a Joe and Patrice are surly, and you just know they hated being in the public. When I asked for an extra blanket they said I had one, although I told them I wanted another one. I was begrudenly given a smoked hole rag for a blanket. I left with fleas. After many many complaints I was finally moved after I asked for the manager. The other room had no view other than all the other windowss off the residents. Forget about getting any sleep at all. Do not waste your money staying here.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — noisy
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank alicebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 14, 2006

If you're looking for a luxury hotel, you'll need to either pay (a lot) more or stay outside San Francisco. But a room here usually costs just a few dollars more than a dorm bed at the Green Tortoise (hostel) across the street, so it's great if you just want somewhere to rest after a day of sightseeting and a night of partying. (Nothing against Green Tortoise: They're great if you want to meet lots of people.)

The location is perfect if you like bars, nightclubs and restaurants: It's right in North Beach, and a few blocks from other attractions such as Chinatown, the Powell Street area and Fisherman's Wharf. It's not so good if you like peace and quiet, as there tend to lots of drunken revellers making lots of noise right until bar closing time (2am), plus noise from traffic.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Music City Hotel
#122 of 228 in San Francisco
378 reviews
The Castro
Twin Peaks Hotel
Twin Peaks Hotel
#175 of 228 in San Francisco
56 reviews
Layne Hotel
#201 of 228 in San Francisco
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Dakota Hotel
#190 of 228 in San Francisco
180 reviews
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#147 of 228 in San Francisco
830 reviews
Union Square
Post Hotel
Post Hotel
#169 of 228 in San Francisco
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel North Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel North Beach

Property: Hotel North Beach
Address: 935 Kearny St, San Francisco, CA 94133-5156 (Formerly St. Paul Hotel)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel North Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hotel North Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing