We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but that's it”
Review of Hotel North Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel North Beach
Ranked #195 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I chose that hotel because every thing else was very expensive and I came for a long trip . The room was Ok, the towels and sheets weren't changed even once in a 3 nights stay. The shared bath was not cleaned very frequently. If you are on a low budjet you might pick this hotel because of its great location.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LubaVi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
There are newer reviews for Hotel North Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 175 of 337 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

Clean rooms with clean shared bathrooms and showers. I only paid $60 a night through Trivago.

With regards to comments about rude service, this 'Patrice' was not to be seen and all staff were warm and professional. Even when I was let in at 4am not a grumble.

Downside only is the fact that bathrooms are shared but at $60 it's fine.

Great place to stay, great price. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pliu91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This hotel is definitely overrated. I guess the reason is the amazing experience of the city itself which makes anyone extremely happy such that they forget how horrible and how overpriced this hotel is.

Paid 69$+tax for my room (my cell, in analogy to Alcatraz prison)
- no private bathroom
- pay more than what you've planned as tax is not included in your booking receipt
- overpriced
- very small room
+ they say it's good to be next to the China town, which in my opinion is the lamest attraction of this amazing city

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vahidkh62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed there twice, each time for a period of 3 months. The location is great given that you could say North Beach is almost in the heart of SF. Price wise the hotel is a good deal, if you are only looking for a place to sleep at night and spend most of your time traveling around. A ten minutes walk will get you downtown or a 20 minutes walk will get you to Fisherman's Wharf. Columbus street with it's great restaurants is around the corner, China Town is right there and a bus station is right outside the hotel. If you are short on cash but still want to spend some time in the wonderful city of San Francisco this is an ok place to stay at. I would say it's mostly suitable for young people but don't stay there if you are traveling with kids :)

Room Tip: Rooms with windows facing the street are very noisy.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank june3086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The staff is not friendly and the security guy might decide on day, at random, to control you even if you have been staying in the hotel for a few days already (and that you have already met him a few times and said hello to him everyday without him answering you. Maybe it's because the day before 5 cops came to check on something/someone/ prostitute? at the hotel.)
Appart from that, the location is great, right next to Chinatown and within walking distance to the center.
The room is huge if you are a Oompa-Loompa. From an average-sized human being's point of view, it would be considered as quite small. However, we enjoyed the fridge and the microwave in the room. There are some washing machines and iron boards for a few dollars.
The shared bathrooms are clean.

Room Tip: Don't pick rooms looking on the street even if in the others you have a direct view on your neig...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joedassinbip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I used to live in North Beach, SF in the mid 2000's. The city is made up of many residential hotels or SRO's (Single Room Occupancy) hotels because of the insanely high price of rent for a "normal apartment".
I stayed at this hotel for several weeks after being driven out of another nearby SRO due to massive bed bug infestation. At this time the "Hotel North Beach" was called "Saint Paul Hotel" and was just another resident hotel but one of those that were kept up better and a haven for many that had been driven out of the various nearby Residential Hotels because the bedbug problem was massive and not being addressed. The Saint Paul Hotel cost less then $200 a week to stay at even with the hotel tax added. A room could be had for one night for $29.

A company called Mosserco owns this building along with some others - a mix of tourist hotels, resident hotels and regular apartment buildings. Apparently along with the name change Mosserco has decided to hike the price of this property and sell it as a tourist hotel. Now they are asking upwards of 60-70 dollars a night for rooms that used to be $29 only a few years back?

I finally moved out of SF because living in this city comfortable requires either a minimum of a 6 figure income or the ability to live with half a dozen roommates. No choice was acceptable when I was getting into my mid-40's age wise.

San Francisco is just getting far too uppity to gain much respectability from me anymore and to anyone who considers staying here this used to be someone's HOME. Now why do you think there are so many HOMELESS in San Francisco. I could be one of them but I just left for a cheaper location and my dignity intact.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank aajr26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

If you want to be able to walk to most tourist destinations in downtown San Francisco, but don't want to spend a lot of money on a hotel, this is a good place to stay. If you plan on spending a lot of time in your room, this is not a good place to stay.

The rooms are small, and there are shared bathrooms on each floor. The bathrooms are really clean--until after midnight, when drunk people use them and sometimes miss the toilet. Our room was on the corner of Columbus and Kearney, and it was really loud at night, especially because it was so hot in our room that we had to open the window (the heat is controlled by the front desk). If I stayed here again, I would ask for a room on a back alley.

Because some transient people live here for weeks at a time, there are a lot of rules (visitors have to sign in, for example) and you have to leave a $30 cash deposit at the front desk (they return this when you check out if there's nothing wrong with the room). This was kind of a hassle since we were not expecting it.

Overall, Hotel North Beach was worth it for the location and price, but it definitely isn't the most comfortable place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the street.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mmholohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Music City Hotel
#117 of 229 in San Francisco
401 reviews
The Castro
Twin Peaks Hotel
Twin Peaks Hotel
#193 of 229 in San Francisco
63 reviews
Layne Hotel
#203 of 229 in San Francisco
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
SW Hotel
SW Hotel
#126 of 229 in San Francisco
363 reviews
Union Square
Post Hotel
Post Hotel
#189 of 229 in San Francisco
152 reviews
Union Square
SF Plaza Hotel
SF Plaza Hotel
#201 of 229 in San Francisco
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel North Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel North Beach

Address: 935 Kearny St, San Francisco, CA 94133-5156 (Formerly St. Paul Hotel)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $39 - $891 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel North Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel North Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing