We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect choice for the price”
Review of Hotel North Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel North Beach
Ranked #193 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
United States
Level Contributor
108 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect choice for the price”
Reviewed August 14, 2011

I paid less than $1000 for a month in this hotel. The room is clean, the shared bathroom is ok. The service is kind of friendly. Think of the hotel as a dorm-like building. The location is between North Beach and China Town (near Financial District).

Cons: elevator can be out of order for a while; weird 'neighbors' (low-income residents renting rooms here.); the internet is very slow.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cuong_Duc_Pham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    69
    109
    56
    65
See reviews for
15
120
91
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Staff made our stay great. Very accomodating and friendly. Location is the best! Within walking distance to china town, fishermans warf, Russian hill, red light district, italian district, bars n cafes and transportation lines. I felt very safe coming and going. Bathrooms n showers were always clean and available. Your in the middle of the city so bring earplugs n mosquito repellant, no air so windows have to stay open. Great pick if you rather spend money exploring rhe city vs. Hanging out in your room!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MexyCanAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

My hubby and i stayed here 12 months ago - July 2010.
The room was quite plain and did the job I guess. The toilet and showers were okay, but they were all unisex from memory so didn't smell so great.
Location was really great, close to city, walking distance to pier 33 (but a decent walk) and little Italy.
There was also a nice bakery downstairs to great a good cheap breakfast.
I guess we'd go back again if I couldn't find anything else for around the same price, but I'd definatly look elsewhere first.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AbbsG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
2 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2010

Don't bother, the place is not worth it. Don't even think of it, I stayed there for three weeks, because it was cheap. Not even worth that....

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Guam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2010

I chose this hotel based on the cost--about $50 a night. I was afraid to find out that it had no elevator and no showers or toilet in the room. There is a shared toilet and shower for each floor, so if that is something you aren't used to, check another hotel.

We checked-in with front desk at a busy time with two receptionists present. I forgot the name of the person who helped us, I think it was Jen, but Jen provided us directions on which Muni buses to take to go sightseeing--thanks Jen!

Our room was situated near the street, so it was hard sleeping with all the noise and lights streaming into the room. The windows and door rattled.

Upon leaving, we asked the receptionist (not Jen) for directions as to which Muni bus to take to the Wharf. She admitted to not knowing which bus to take.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel to people new to San Francisco because then they'd be more likely to get lost. If you're budget conscious and are willing to put up with a shared shower and toilet and loud nights, then consider this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gu_ju128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2010

I booked a room here for a few nights last minute with a friend, and it worked out well. The staff was really nice. The room was small and clean. It had a fridge and a microwave. The bathrooms and showers were down the hall. They were clean and I didn't have to wait to use them ever. There are quite a few on every floor. The location is awesome. Right between Little Italy and Chinatown. I would def stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ascott000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2010

This is the best priced room with a great location in SF! If you like the Beats, Italian coffee & food & Chinatown, this is the best location in SF-City Lights Bookstore, Vesuvio's & Coppola's restaurant Zoetrope around the corner. Walk through Chinatown or the Financial District to Market Street. The weather is great and very lively area. Mostly young Europeans or down and out locals (weekly/monthly) stay but have never felt unsafe.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KC K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Music City Hotel
#124 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
The Castro
Twin Peaks Hotel
Twin Peaks Hotel
#164 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Layne Hotel
#200 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
SW Hotel
SW Hotel
#122 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
The Dakota Hotel
#186 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel North Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel North Beach

Property: Hotel North Beach
Address: 935 Kearny St, San Francisco, CA 94133-5156 (Formerly St. Paul Hotel)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel North Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hotel North Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing