We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visually delightful”
Review of Balmy Alley Murals

Balmy Alley Murals
Book In Advance
More Info
$80.09*
and up
Flavors and Murals of the Mission District of San Francisco
Ranked #105 of 546 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Shoreham, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Visually delightful”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This one alley contains so many murals of significance, it's a must see if your in San Francisco. Beautiful, political and highly artistic.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    27
    6
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Colorful, revolutionary, history.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

A short walk through a most memorable alley full of artistic murals. These are not just pretty paintings-- they tell stories of pain, struggles and revolutions. But it's not dismal in the least. It is alive with historical stories. You can just walk through to enjoy the art or go to Precita Eyes a block away on 24th Street and purchase a booklet or join a tour they offer. I recommend the tour, a least the first time. You'll want to go again. I have gone a few times as well as walked all over the area with its numerous historical murals. It's a good trip fir art lovers and those who enjoy a truly unique city experience.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Juneabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Very beautiful and interesting. We saw this when taking Dylan's Tours. I do not think we would have found it on our own.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank joycemoynihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Saw this as part of Streets of San Francisco cycling tour.”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I think that Clarion Alley and Balmy Alley are very similar, but we cannot find Clarion Alley on Trip Advisor. My photos are also too large to upload to trip advisor, but if you Google streetview the address, you will see exactly what the alley looks like. We found Clarion Alley with the help of our tour guide from the Streets of San Francisco cycling tour. Our guide gave a fascinating explanation of the rationale behind these alleys as well as information about the artists. Her explanation of the hierarchy of respect for some artists and not others was really interesting, as was her explanation of how the art continues to evolve. The art is beautiful, but without a tour guide, you probably won't know the significance of what you are looking at. Our guide was able to provide commentary on art that had appeared within the last week. Also note that the neighborhood is not the greatest, although we saw at least 4 police cruisers come down the alley during our 25-minutes there. The guide told us this was because there is a police station nearby.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank skytre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Mines, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Treat your eyes to something amazing”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

It was not far from the 'turtle hill' which is only a couple of blocks away from where i was staying with a friend. She and I decided to travel up to here and it was amazing. It was one of the best things that I've done was just go for a walk around the area and then we seen this area. I felt almost bad for walking on the stairs, after she asked me to turn around and then look at the stairs and the area around.

It is worth the trip and I can assure you that you will not regret it at all.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balmy Alley Murals also viewed

 

Been to Balmy Alley Murals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing