We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a fun way to see the park....”
Review of Segway SF Bay

Segway SF Bay
Ranked #98 of 285 Tours in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Segway tours / rentals in SF CA
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a fun way to see the park....”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We decided to use this Segway company because you decided what to see and how quickly or slowly you wanted to do it. It is a do it yourself tour, no pressure of being with a group and having to be on someone else's clock! We chose 2 hours which was a good time frame, had a lesson and were on our way. If we wanted to extend our time all we had to do was call them and let them know, how easy was that? We headed toward the beach, at first I was hesitant to get up to speed but once you gave the hang of it, using the Segway is a breeze. The group that left before us had young teens and the took to it quickly, I would recommend this for persons of all ages! The sight in the park were beautiful. If your hungry head to the boat house. The food is fairly priced and very yummy! These segways were very reasonably priced..... We has so much fun exploring that we are thinking of stopping back for a second day!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank suenyyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Segways on your own”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My son and I happily went off on a 1 1/12 hour tour of Golden Gate Park, and out to the coast on our own, thanks to Segway SF Bay. There's really no need to go on a group tour when you can explore on your own, and at your own pace. And with quick, and thorough training, helmets, gloves and a map, you're off! It was our first time on a segway, and it's very easy to learn.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hopper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Thank you Charlie!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We were so glad we rented Segways rather than doing a tour. It was great being out on our own. Charlie was a great teacher. It only took a few minutes for us to learn (mom and dad age 46 and daughters age 13 and 16.). Before we knew it we were cruising through the park. We loved zipping up the hill past the Cliff House. Definitely do this!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SandTSt_Paul_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“More interested in riding than in narration? Rent here.”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My daughters and I felt so superior blasting by the Segway tours that were crawling along in two lines, listening to their guide. Charlie is fantastically laid-back, and is a great teacher. He lent us warm gear and helmets, gave us suggestions and maps, and sent us out the door. We had 2.5 hours of FUN! Wouldn't it be fun to rent Segways for your entire stay and skip the cable car lines?

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
134 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Phenomenal experience - rent segways without a guide”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I believe this is the only shop which rents segways out without a tour guide tagging along. I did not feel that the GG park required a tour guide. The segways are very easy to ride. This was my(and my husband's ) first time on a segway. We were given a short (but thorough) course on how to use the segways. Everything we needed to know was covered. As long as you do not go crazy , riding at top speeds, attempting stunts on the segway, you will do very well with this machine.

Maps of the park are provided which are very easy to read and navigate through. You can stop wherever you like for however long you want. Helmets and jackets (if required) are provided. If you want to extend the tour for a while, a quick call to the shop can be made from wherever you are. THe price too is very reasonable, and is about the same as a guided tour with the added advantage that you can go faster or spend more time where you want to. The guided tours cover only the east side of the park. if you have the time/inclination you can attempt a few sections of the west side as well as the east.

Be warned that the park is large and you will probably cover just the east side in 2 hours.

The segway rental is truly worth it. We wanted to rent them again the next day but due to some other commitments could not get back to the shop. Highly recommended.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vidalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Segway SF Bay also viewed

 

Been to Segway SF Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing