We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
San Francisco
Post
Inbox
Search

“Cheap good and fast”
Review of Dojima-Ann

Dojima-Ann
Ranked #304 of 6,918 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Neighborhood: Union Square
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Union Square
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Weird strong ammonia smell (possibly from the detergent they use) permeating throughout the restaurant, doesn't seem to bother other guests and waiters. Smells like pee to me on first visit and had to relocate to the entrance where the smell is weaker.

However the food and value is very worth it so we went back almost everyday (we're there only for 4 days).

Food is good especially lunch combos. Sizing is consider large (for someone who live in asia).Try the Katsu (Fried pork cutlet). The sushi rolls are average, salmon teriyaki is also good.

Date of visit: December 2012
Thank GaryTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 215 of 396 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2012

Dojima-Ann was recommended to us by a local, and the promises of yummy food was upheld - went twice and the sushi was especially tasty. One of us had seafood allergy, and they were able to accommodate the request to use new slicing board and knife without any hassle. However, the staff felt a bit distant and reserved, so they could definitely benefit from adding some warmth to their approach. If you do you´ll get the 5 rating easily.

Date of visit: July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Both my wife and I were looking for some good Sushi! Tihs place was authentic and it was packed!!! Had a little wait, but were ok with that since we knew that means its a great choice to eat at! We had the tuna rolls and yellow fin fish roll. They were awesome!!! YUMMY! We also order some Udon Noodles with some beef in it as well!! Super scrumy also! We had some plum wife to top it off! SO GOOOOD! Thanks Dojima-Ann for a great meal!!

Date of visit: November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank flightkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This small restaurant centrally located had great Japanese Food at affordable prices...food is authentic and unpretentious...good service...cozy place...

Date of visit: September 2012
Thank Ei0B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We found this restaurant through the TripAdvisor App - we were looking for something close to our hotel for a cheap and cheerful dinner late at night. We found this to be such a gem that we had to go back! While it's not especially cheap, it represents good value - which can be difficult to find in San Francisco (two of us could eat/drink for under $50, and there are several dishes under $10), the food is excellent, and the service is good. We eat Japanese cuisine frequently, and were very happy to find this restaurant so close to our hotel near Union Square.

Date of visit: August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Snicam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dojima-Ann also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Dojima-Ann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing