We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth It”

Marrakech Magic Theater
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This unforgettable evening begins as you enter into a historic speakeasy. The perfect setting for a remarkable evening of entertainment. Upon entering you will be escorted into the Oasis Lounge where you will witnesses world class sleight-of-hand magic prior to the main performance. A wonderful assortment of drinks and Moroccan appetizers are available for purchase prior to the show. You will then be escorted into our intimate showroom for Jay Alexander‘s unforgettable performance of magic, mentalism, and psychological feats such as human lie detection. This evening of entertainment will lift your spirits and leave a lasting memory. Find out why Bono of U2 called it “Astonishing” and Monty Python’s John Cleese said it was “Wonderful!" You'll witness intriguing feats of mentalism, sleight-of-hand miracles, and throughout, Jay Alexander’s clean comedy will keep you laughing! Get your tickets today!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator
Pasadena, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Well Worth It”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Peter is a first rate host and performer. My son and I were there on a slower night and as such we were able to see some tricks of the trade up close and personal before the actual performance began. The show is well polished and flows nicely. Due to the fact that it is a small theater, many audience members can and will be asked to participate in the show. Great fun for all ages - thanks for a wonderful evening.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    709
    86
    19
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Very Fun Evening”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I'm glad that I purchased tickets ahead of time. It was a very enjoyable evening. Awesome magic tricks. I still don't know how he did several of those tricks

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TraceyO123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Very entertained ”
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Had a great time at this show. Small stage and theatre which adds to the show a great deal. Very happy we decides to check it out.

Helpful?
Thank Tarheel761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“magic - 5 stars, my own experience - 3.6”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

magic is good and laughs are good, and all is real, so if that's what your goal is then definitely go. all people there definitely had fun. maybe only other place you can see better magic is magic castle which is impossible to get to.
since it's small and you are seated in a place in small room the bad thing about it is if ppl ahead of you do stupid gross stuff than there is nothing you can do and just have to tolerate cause even if you decided to just get out you wouldn't be able without stopping everything.
45$ for this compared to 25$ in academy of sciences where you can experiences the coolest thing ever, or for 25$ rent a bike for 24 hours and experience Golden Gate Park or cross the bridge on bike.. how is this #2 experience? no clue. first I thought problem is with tripadvisor that it doesn't sort out well.. but when he mentioned tripadvisor I understood that it's just part of magic, I'm surprised it's not #1 then, but unfortunately I'm one of those few ppl who doesn't like getting tricked.. but you go ahead

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Vahe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A magical night out....”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Your unique evening starts with a couple cocktails in the welcome lounge. The theatre has food but we did not have any on this visit. Peter mingles with his guests who come in all ages I might add and performs some close up magic while getting to know everyone in the room. Meeting the star prior to the show is always a nice touch. This time is also a nice opportunity for yourselves to meet with the other guests. The staff are quite pleasant and very attentive. In particular this evening we were looked after very well by Zack and Aisha, (forgive the spelling) who kept everything nicely organized and flowing. The ambience is quite interesting with a certain Casablanca flair.
The theatre is small, intimate and it's perfect for Peter's type of close up magic. There looks to be no more than 35-40 people and there isn't a bad seat in the house. Peter will captivate, amaze and entertain you for the next hour and some. His magic was new, fresh and very interactive.
We learned Peter is local to the area and has created this dream of his through the magic of hard work. It's obvious with his visible passion and genuine drive to put on a very good show.
The Marrakech Theatre should be on your list to visit while in San Francisco. We chose the 6:30 show and arrived about 5:45 for drinks.
Thanks for a great night.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank meezleedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrisonmagic, Owner at Marrakech Magic Theater, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Wow! Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review about my show and your experience at my theater. It was truly delightful meeting you both. I am very pleased that you also found my staff to be attentive and engaging as well. Customer experience is and will always be my number one goal. I look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marrakech Magic Theater also viewed

 

Been to Marrakech Magic Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing