We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hidden Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Angel Island State Park

Angel Island State Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$457.95*
and up
U-Fly SkyTour of San Francisco and Golden Gate Bridge from San Carlos
Ranked #33 of 528 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The largest island in San Francisco Bay features magnificent views of Marin County and San Francisco, while offering a wide variety of recreation for outdoor enthusiasts.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Hidden Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We went to Angel Island via Tiburon ferry to watch the SF July 4th fireworks. The Island offers a lot more than expected and felt relaxed. We took the tour of the island that gave informative history from the Miwok Indians to how the Island was saved. The hour-long tour also takes you by the Immigration Station used as the Ellis Island of the West. There's also bike and Segway tours and a few good hiking trails. Little cafe had live music and good food. There's also campground and picnic areas. Definitely a unique way to spend a relaxing day in the bay area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sportscierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    204
    52
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Placerville, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Bike ride on Angel Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very easy to board ferry with bikes. Be warned that this is not a beginners ride. Some very steep grades that I ended pushing bike up, but for most parts was an easy coast. At the end, had lunch at the little cafe. Food was fantastic, and very reasonably priced. Sat and listened to live music while we ate.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Hidden National Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

When you think of the many attractions to visit in San Francisco, Alcatraz is always on someone's list. It is rare to find many visitors who journey to a marvelous national treasure found on a nearby island called Angel Island. The 15-minute jaunt on the ferry from Pier 39 brings you face to face with a historical moment that will change your life. Angel Island was the entry port and immigration processing center for thousands of immigrants who journeyed from China, Japan, Russia, Italy and many other European and Asian countries. The tour guides help you to envision the lives, the dreams, and sadly, the abuse experienced by so many who simply wanted a better life. It is worth your while to add Angel Island to your list of sites to visit when you head to San Francisco.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by Angel Island. We only took the tour over to Angel Island because it was the only way we could get to Alcatraz. I was highly annoyed at having to pay an extra $30 to see an island I didn't want to see! A 30 min. boat ride gets you over to Angel Island and leaves you off at the dock, where there is a nice cafe, with great sandwiches and probably the BEST chocolate chips cookies I've ever had (and I'm a HUGE fan of chocolate chip cookies). The island tram ride is about an hour and they make stops so you can take pics. They use pre-recorded audio and to be honest I found it BO-RING. So we jumped tram at the first stop (a mile up the road) and went hiking on our own...which was great! You can also rent bikes and tour the island that way. We would have liked more time on the island, but the combo tour of Alcatraz and Angel doesn't give you a lot of time as you need to be back on the last boat to Alcatraz at 12:45. I would def like to go back and explore more of the island.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mazi10310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukilteo, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tourists can probably skip this one”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

I can see that locals may want to come here as a getaway, but it wasn't that great for tourists. We did it as the combined Alcatraz/Angel Island tour. Unfortunately, both areas are short-changed doing it this way. To appreciate them, you really need more time than they allowed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank mukilteomike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angel Island State Park also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Angel Island State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing