We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hiking and picnic”

Angel Island State Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$149.00*
and up
San Francisco City Sights Seaplane Tour
More Info
$229.00*
and up
Greater Bay Area SeaplaneTour
More Info
$159.00*
and up
Alcatraz and Wine Country Combo Tour
Ranked #31 of 546 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The largest island in San Francisco Bay features magnificent views of Marin County and San Francisco, while offering a wide variety of recreation for outdoor enthusiasts.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Millbrae, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hiking and picnic”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Ferry ride is fun and picnic tables are available. You can barbeque too. It is a state park and camping sites are available. You need to reserve though. The viewpoints are great.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travlssometimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    482
    213
    56
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
E.Bay - Alameda
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning...”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We went by ferry from Alameda.The weekend service just became available last month for the season. We transferred at Pier 41 in San Francisco. There was only one option per day available: leave Alameda at 9:10AM and then leave Angel Island at 3:35 (no transfer required on the way back).
The weather was beautiful. We had feared it may be too warm, although were pleasantly surprised with the ocean breeze. Keep in mind that you will need a jacket on most days...
We hiked down to the shore and found ourselves alone on a pristine beach. We took a picnic lunch in a backpack and had a wonderful day.
The hiking does not necessarily require hiking boots. I had on Keene water shoes and my friend had on tennis shoes.
The entrance fee to the park was included with the ferry ticket and it was $14.50 per person. It was well worth it and there were also Rangers available to answer questions.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Crzymry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placentia, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tranquil setting”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The setting could not be more beautiful or tranquil. I came by private sailboat on a Friday afternoon, there was one other boat in the slip and a few park rangers at the kiosk. I hiked up to the top, and while it was gorgeous, if you don't have the time or energy to make it to the top there are plenty of spectacular views from every side of the island.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place to hike”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Beautiful views of the bay. It's even better if you sail here with friends and then have a picnic on the island. It's a big hill so wear your hiking shoes.

Helpful?
Thank randijim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“nice ferry ride, gorgeous views”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

just a short ferry ride from the Ferry Building is a hilly island good for a walk or a fairly challenging bike ride. Forested, with all round views of the Bay and old Civil War era buildings. Picnic tables -
great respite from urbanity

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank BJaneH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angel Island State Park also viewed

 

Been to Angel Island State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing