We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegan Restaurant- Mexican Style”
Review of Gracias Madre

Gracias Madre
Reserve a Table
2
Tue, 9/17
8:00 PM
OR
Ranked #167 of 6,500 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mission District
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed our visit to Gracias Madre in the Mission Area. It became famous as the first Mexican style vegan restaurant. We enjoyed lunch there in particular the entree which was Quesadilla with Cheese and Sweet Potatoes. That was truly delicious!! The place itself was neat and clean with an efficient bunch of waiters. Recommended for vegans and vegetarians touring San Francisco.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Prem R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (460)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 460 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2019

Such a refreshing setting, nice and varied menu, food is amazing! Love that this place achieved authentic Mexican food very rich in flavor and clean by just being plant-based. Highly recommend visiting!!!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alexylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2019 via mobile

Food is decent, but very small portion for a 20 dollars dish. Service is also pretty average. Not impressed at all.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank harryxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2019 via mobile

This restaurant stood out from the other “taqueria” type places. The menu is very unique. I had the enchiladas which had an outstanding mole. Great service and a solid house margarita. Highly recommended and will be returning!

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank ChgoKPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2019

We went in due to high ratings. I ordered a Caesar salad, it was so bland and so flat was hard to be believed. And there was no anchovy lemon zest hint of acidity or anything for Bloom. I’m really not that picky. But this was not so exciting. Girlfriend ordered one of the bowls it was the same way. We took the food home hoping we could zest it up with some extra ingredients. We threw both out. After leaving we went to a local taqueria, and the food was superior at 1/4 of the price. Slightly rancid oil on the chips at this place also. Let us hope they bring up the quality of the food to match the ambience of the building. $78 later, and nothing but a let down.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Pintobeanlittles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gracias Madre also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Gracias Madre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing