We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Gracias Madre

Gracias Madre
Reserve with OpenTable
Gracias Madre is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #151 of 5,695 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mission District
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

After reading reviews was excited to check this place out. What we got was an over priced mexican veggie place in a poor area. I guess it was good for those that want fusion -- but for those that want authentic and more flavour - i would say skip it. Service sucked!

Helpful?
1 Thank Penny M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    80
    24
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food in San Francisco”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The year that Gracias Madre opened up, they won Best New Restaurant of the Year, not just for vegetarian restaurants, but for the whole city. This is huge for a city where restaurants pride themselves on being in the top 100 restaurants! We have eaten at Gracias Madre dozens of times, and it is always fantastic. It is the only non-pork pozole I have had, and their tacos, quesadillas and seasonal salads are always outstanding. They only take reservations for parties of 5 or more, so go off hours (12 noon - 6pm), or be prepared to wait, especially weekends and 7-9pm. The people that own Gracias Madre are kind and generous community leaders, and much of the food comes from their very own farm in Vacaville, just a couple hours outside of SF. A house specialty is the Horchata Latte, and the Green juice is a super healthy option. Another thing to know, is that they use organic, heirloom corn for their tortillas, so they are the best in the world. Dense, fresh, and filling. They are not free, and some friends, not knowing this, kept asking for more tortillas, and then had to pay around $20 for all of their orders, so get them one fresh order at a time. One of the best restaurants anywhere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Su M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A great surprise”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Some of the best Mexican food, and some of the best vegan food I've eaten. We had the tacos and the tamale; fresh and delicious. The apple crumble and ice cream for dessert was great but not particularly special - the ice cream was nice but didn't really feel like ice cream; the flan, however, was really excellent - I have no idea how that was made. Service was excellent and the restaurant is really nice inside.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thenextman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newman, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“New cooking ideas”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We went with some friends. The totopos were a great starter with a side of guacamole. My wife got the pozole and it was great. One of my friends got the chilaquiles and they were awesome my other friend got the enchiladas. The presentation was great but they lack flavor. I got the coliflower with cheese and it was good. I also had the quesadillas they were good but I was expecting something different. It is worth coming back to try other dishes

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Gracias Mas!”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

If your seeking extraordinary ethnic "plant-strong" fare and you're craving Mexican food, find your way to Gracias Madre in the Mission District. Visiting San Francisco wouldn't be complete without a trip to GM. Their enchiladas topped with Mole and cashew queso are just two of the special flavors--and no animal protein. But simple is elegant and the hot corn tortillas that are fresh from the griddle are amazing. . . .and good for you as well.

Don't miss the chance to visit Gracias Madre--you'll love the food, atmosphere and friendly, knowledgable servers!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike_Adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gracias Madre also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Gracias Madre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing