We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go with Tower Tours”

Napa & Sonoma Valley Wine Tour
Book In Advance
More Info
$91.00*
and up
Napa and Sonoma Wine Country Tour
Ranked #22 of 100 Food & Drink in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ottawa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Go with Tower Tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Pick up at your hotel on time; brings you to their ticket office for confirmation and leave at exact hour. in a nice and modern bus If your lucky, you'll get Sylvio as your ``chauffeur/guide``. Very professional, knowledgeable and humoristic person. He turns the 9-hour-tour a fun and instructive ride.

A must as Sonoma and Napa bring an european touch to you trip to SF. Money well spent. pecially in a hot, and blue sky day!!!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank allodede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    47
    8
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good wine; technical difficulties with bus”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Got our tickets through GuideYou.com. LOVED the wineries (especially Jacuzzi), but the first limo bus we were on had broken AC, and it was VERY hot for a while. They finally replaced the bus after the 2nd stop. They should offer gluten-free options for breakfast and lunch (I had to bring my own lunch, which was uncool after paying $99). Loved our second driver, Sharif.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank sharper126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Limo Bus and Gorgeous Wineries - annoying driver”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We went on the Napa Valley Wine Tour over the Labor Day weekend and were so surprised when our bus was decked out "limo style" on the inside with beautiful leather long curvy seats and intermittent food stations and built in coolers for water, wine, and other drinks. The trip started with a continental breakfast (mini bagels, cream cheese, cutting board with sliced cheeses, croissants, jellies, and fruit), the first stop was to the Golden Gate bridge, everyone was able to get out of the bus to take pictures (unfortunately it was a very foggy morning, and we could barely see anything, but it was still lovely to experience), once back on the bus, we were served Mimosa's and really started to feel like a "group" since we were passing our champagne flutes down to each other in the long bus. We then proceeded to our first winery (Jacuzzi), which was beautiful and offered wine tasting with a "chocolate bomb" for an additional $2.50 which made the wine taste AMAZING - I highly recommend experiencing the chocolate with the wine. What a treat! The next winery we went to was actually my favorite, and I signed up for a wine membership while I was there! (Lol, nerdy right!?) - Viansa Winery had a wonderful wine expert (I wish I could remember his name) - He was very knowledgeable and even taught me some things I didn't know about wine! Very impressive. He said that he was a retired Fire Chief, so if you happen to go there, be sure to ask to meet him. He was fantastic! The third winery was Madonna and not so great. Very tiny and they had about 3 tours stuffed into one room trying to taste wine. The people behind the bar pouring the wine were rude and kept telling people to be quiet and would get obnoxious with the people that would put their wine glass down. I finally had to walk out of the room and just wait outside for the bus to leave. Behind the Madonna Winery was a shady grassy area where our bus driver gave us lunch. Buffet line with hoagie rolls, cheese, turkey, tomatoes, a pasta salad, and something wrapped in grape leaves and SOAKED in olive oil. There were picnic tables where we all sat and ate our lunch. After we were finished, the driver brought out a "surprise" which were Chocolate Covered Strawberries on a serving tray. He started handing out the strawberries to his "favorites" in the group first, (the people that were most lively and talkative), and by the time he got around to our table, there were only tiny strawberries left on the tray, he tried to make up for it by leaving the tray on our table so we could have more than 1, but honestly, on a tour of this nature, everyone should be treated equal, and ALL of the strawberries should have been the same size. Come on! That is just common hospitality! The 4th and last winery was Jamieson that had a live mini horse as its mascot being led around by a woman on the property. We were taken behind the scenes to see where and how the wine was made, which was a real treat! Some people chose to simply go and drink wine, while others could go choose the tour for an additional $10 per person; we chose the tour and loved it! After the tour was over, there was still plenty of time to go and drink wine and hang out on the lush property. Overall, three of the four wineries we visited were spectacular! We got back on the bus for our 90 minute drive back to San Francisco, our bus driver wasn't keeping up with the time very well, and we ended up getting back almost 2 hours later than the tour was set for; it was no problem since we didn't have any set plans for after the Wine Tour, but what if we had? We had a very diverse and lively bunch on the tour with us; Australians, Asians, Canadians, a family from India, and of course a handful of Americans. It was a lot of fun and everyone was very friendly. The bus driver mentioned at least 10 times about getting a tip at the end of the tour, which became intrusive after the first few times. He never cleaned the inside of the bus either while we were at the wineries. After people had their breakfast, there was still cream cheese covered plastic knives laying around, and the cream cheese and the cutting board of cheese were left baking in the hot sun all day. We could barely understand what the driver was saying at all times as he had a very strong German accent. All in all, the trip was beautiful, exciting, and a lot of fun. The only problem we had was with the annoying bus driver Hans. I highly recommend this Wine Tour, just try to see if you can ask for a different bus driver than Hans.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank skiizy0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wine tasting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We really enjoy to visit Napa and Sonoma and to visit three different wineries, learning about California wines and tasting and buying them :) the landscape is amazing !!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Beatriz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Drink All Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very generous wine tasting and the culture and history of the vineyards and wine making was amazing.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AshleyC389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Napa & Sonoma Valley Wine Tour also viewed

 

Been to Napa & Sonoma Valley Wine Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing