We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Peruvian food in San Francisco” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pasion - SF

Pasion - SF
737 Irving St, San Francisco, CA 94122
4157425727
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,791 of 5,450 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Peruvian, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 9th Ave
Description: Welcome to Pasion, the Nuevo Latino restaurant from owner and executive chef Jose Calvo-Perez. Pasion brings a taste of the Latino Carribean, South and Central America to the Inner Sunset District of San Francisco, combining excitement and energy of Latin American cuisine and decor with a modern, urban flavor. iBuen Provecho!
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Peruvian food in San Francisco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Food is excellent. Inventive & creative menu. Can be a little loud. Good presentation. Good service. Not the place for serious discussions

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oneidaelane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    14
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
328 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“South of the border for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Pasion is a great addition to the Inner Sunset neighborhood, particularly now that it is open for lunch! It'a a smart looking interior with wooden tables and chairs and an attractive bar and was fairly quiet the times I've dined there at lunch. Menu is a nice mix of salads, hearty sandwiches (a Cubano, for example) and other Latin fare. The guacamole was excellent too! A nice alternative to the more casual spots on 9th Ave.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bi-coaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing Visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have been to Pasion several times since it first opened and the experiences were always good. However,for Fathers Day my wife took me to Pasion and, on this visit, the experience was not very good.

We had a reservation and were seated promptly. However, it took about five minutes for the waiter to appear and offer us menus. He took our drink order and delivered it in about another five minutes, which was good. He then disappeared for quite a while before returning for our order. We started with the roasted potatoes which arrived far too warm - almost cold. This was followed by our entrees which also arrived cold. We should have sent the entrees back but didn't.

I think they may have been understaffed for Fathers Day and that our waiter was not able to get to the kitchen often enough to serve the food hot. As I said, this was the first disappointing visit I have had here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RAJ711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
147 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Loud, loud, loud”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The restaurant was so loud that we could barely talk directly across the table, much less from one end of a six-person table to the other. Our ears were literally ringing when we left the restaurant.

While the food was quite good, particularly the ceviche dishes, I would not go back, simply because the noise level is painfully high.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RWalker415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We've been to Pasion a couple times for dinner. It's a great fine dining restaurant in our neighborhood, but non-pretentious. We've always enjoyed great food and service. Enjoyed everything that I have eaten here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Calimonkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pasion - SF also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Pasion - SF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing