We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely evening”
Review of Seven Hills

Seven Hills
Reserve with OpenTable
Seven Hills is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 5,711 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $60
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Nob Hill
Cross street: Pacific
Transit: On the Hyde street cable car stop at Pacific.
Description: SEVEN HILLS is a small neighborhood restaurant located in the romantic Nob Hill district of San Francisco. Our emphasis is on home made pasta and showcasing the best our local farmers have to offer. Our wine list was created to be extremely approachable and well suited to our cuisine. We are located on the cable car line on Hyde street. We look forward to seeing you soon...
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Enjoyed our meal/experience at Seven Hills...excellent pasta accompanied by a bottle of Costa De Oro Pinot Noir...good service and everyone in the restaurant seemed to be enjoying themselves (us included).

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joe154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7Hills1550, Owner at Seven Hills, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Hi Joe

Lovely review, thanks very much, I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed everything!
See you soon

Alexis Solomou
Proprietor
Seven Hills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    519
    135
    38
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Coast (of Lake Michigan)
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great for the price!”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

So being my first visit to San Francisco I consulted Trip Advisor for some of the top (affordable) places to eat in the city. I discovered the rather high rating of Seven Hills, and to my surprise it was along the same trolley line that fronted my hotel. I made a same-day reservation and gave it a try.

To be honest, I'm not a fine dining connoisseur in any sense of the word, so I rate based on whether it tastes good, looks good and makes me feel as if the price I paid for the food and service made sense. Seven Hills scored pretty well in all areas, but when this site ranks you in the top-ten out of like 2000 restaurants in the city, I guess I expect to be blown away. And really I wasn't. But again, I'm no expert.

Still, it was a very good dining experience. My only complaint is that they didn't take American Express, which seems odd to me for a higher-end restaurant. No biggie, turns out they accept ye olde dollars.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChaosTheory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7Hills1550, Owner at Seven Hills, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Hi Chaos Theory

Thanks for following the trip advisor reviews and checking us out. I'm glad that you enjoyed everything, we are in the business of feeding people here. Usually people say that we are on the pricier side so thanks for saying the opposite.
Hopefully we'll see you again on your next visit to SF.

Regards

Alexis Solomou
Proprietor
Seven Hills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“diappointing”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Sounded really good but the decor and the atmosphere are pretty unexciting - dull even . Staff were very good but the big let down was the food . Not very interesting and poorly cooked - does medium to well done mean dried up and a bit burnt . A new experience

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank floyd75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7Hills1550, Owner at Seven Hills, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Hi FLoyd

Sorry to hear that you had such a terrible experience at my restaurant. I wish that you had brought it to my attention at the time so we could have rectified the situation. As far as the atmosphere here is concerned i would describe it as very lively, not sure what day you visited us. My mother-in-law won't be happy with your description of her decor as dull but everyone else seems to like it....
Well, i'm pretty sure that we won't be seeing you back here soon, but i wish you nothing but the best in life...

Regards

Alexis Solomou
Proprietor
Seven Hills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
humphreys@ala.net
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The food at Seven Hills was truly exceptional! The place is energetic with a great menu and wine offerings. Our service was attentive. A great visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank AHumphreys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7Hills1550, Owner at Seven Hills, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Hi Humphreys

Short review and to the point, thanks for writing about us. Trip Advisor is really helping us get our name out there.. Hope to see you again soon...

Regards

Alexis Solomou
Proprietor
Seven Hills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

What a delicious meal, very friendly atmosphere, and attentive wait staff. A gourmet experience. Unfortunately, my spouse thought it would be a good idea to walk there from Chinatown and I was exhausted when we arrived. But, I was enchanted by Seven Hills!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7Hills1550, Owner at Seven Hills, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Hi Marie

SF has lots of hills... probably more than seven.... it's nice to work up an appetite by walking to us but it can get a little tiring!! THanks for coming in and letting us look after you. I hope to see you again and hope that you have a wonderful Christmas


Regards

Alexis Solomou
Proprietor
Seven Hills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seven Hills also viewed

 

Been to Seven Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing