We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best meal we had!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seven Hills

Seven Hills
Reserve with OpenTable
Seven Hills is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 5,626 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $60
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Nob Hill
Cross street: Pacific
Transit: On the Hyde street cable car stop at Pacific.
Description: SEVEN HILLS is a small neighborhood restaurant located in the romantic Nob Hill district of San Francisco. Our emphasis is on home made pasta and showcasing the best our local farmers have to offer. Our wine list was created to be extremely approachable and well suited to our cuisine. We are located on the cable car line on hyde street. We look forward to seeing you soon...
Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best meal we had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Best meal, best service, great atmosphere, accomodating, for us, and best of san fran. Right off Hyde street on trolly.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JJRIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7Hills1550, Owner at Seven Hills, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Hi JJR

Cute concise review, looks like we offered you the best of everything. THanks for taking the time out to write about us, every little review really helps us out a lot here!
See you soon...


Regards

Alexis Solomou
Proprietor
Seven Hills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    477
    131
    38
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Restaurant - not at downtown prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Our family of four had a terrific dining experience at this easy to get to restaurant. The prices were surprisingly low for this Italian fine dining experience. The cable car stops right in front of the place. The quality of the food was extremely good, it seemed an all organic freshly bought meat and produce and the chef's talent was amazing. I recomend this little gem to anyone visiting San Francisco.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hans H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7Hills1550, Owner at Seven Hills, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Hi Hans

I really enjoyed this review. We aren't the most child friendly establishment, but if you let us know what you are looking for we will try our best to accommodate you. THanks for pointing out the skill's of Alexander cooking he loved reading that part of your review!
I would love to welcome you and your family back on your next trip to SF! See you soon


Regards

Alexis Solomou
Proprietor
Seven Hills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoy this WOW culinary experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed everything we had last night. From the drinks to the dessert, it was delicous. I would recommend this restaurant to everyone but make a reservation as it's getting very busy...

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank loveu4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7Hills1550, Owner at Seven Hills, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Loveu4ever

I think i will loveu4ever.... Great review, we are getting lot's of Canadians down here and i love it!
Nice short and sweet review... i can't ask for more!


Regards

Alexis Solomou
Proprietor
Seven Hills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encinitas ca
Level Contributor
90 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Meh...you can do a lot better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I'm not sure why this place gets such good reviews. We were just there a few days ago and so very disappointed, especially after all of the great reviews. We basically spent the entire evening waiting...for everything. Our table (we had a reservation), a waiter with a menu, our food, our check. We really wanted to like this...we live in San Diego and had decided to get a city fix, ie food fix for my birthday, so a lot of planning went into the restaurants we chose. The owner was very charming, but that didn't make up for the worst service we've ever experienced...and we have eaten in many fine restaurants. The food was good, but not great, and after all of that waiting, it would have made up for a lot if we had been wowed. The other HUGE downer is the proximity of the tables. They are so close together that like it or not, you are privy to the conversation of the folks at the next table, and the 2 men dining next to us talked business and the stock market all evening...yawn. By the time we finally got our check we were so antsy to leave, and then they had to literally pick up and move their table so I could squeeze out...and I'm not overweight, it's just that they have packed too many tables in a very small space. As a former restaurant owner, I really try to look at all of the aspects of a restaurant, but sorry to say, this barely rates 2 stars in my humble opinion. We won't recommend and definitely won't go back. There are too many other great choices.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7Hills1550, Owner at Seven Hills, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Hi Travelnut

Wow. what a terrible review. We really seem to have failed on so many levels with your dining experience, and for that i truly apologize. Obviously i was involved at some point in the night, i'm disappointed with myself that i did not take more of an initiative to ensure the rest of your night was seamless. We are a small restaurant and i am pretty hands on but for some reason i didn't realise your disappointment. You have to come back. Seriously. Look at all of our great reviews, they are unsolicited and the general trend is fantastic. I know that this is probably the last thing on your mind, but i am sure that if you did you would have a totally different experience. If not then i totally understand as there are so many wonderful restaurant option in SF.

Let me know if you decide to visit us again...


Regards

Alexis Solomou
Proprietor
Seven Hills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia, pa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So so”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Expensive, crowded, small portions. would not be in a hurry to return. Was looking forward to this restaurant but came away disappointed

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kevc0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7Hills1550, Owner at Seven Hills, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Hi Kevc0

I am sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience at my restaurant. Depending on the day it can get pretty busy in here. We only have 38 seats in the restaurant and as a small business owner i need to fill those seats. I don't usually get complaints about portion sizes but our menu offers smaller size options so you can try lots of different items. In an expensive city such as SF, with minimum wage the highest in the country and considering our food cost we are by no means a cheap option. I sincerely thank you for taking the time out of your day to review my restaurant and wish you all the best.


Regards

Alexis Solomou
Proprietor
Seven Hills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seven Hills also viewed

 

Been to Seven Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing