We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the wow scale..it rocks the City!!”
Review of Cotogna

Cotogna
Ranked #129 of 5,758 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Jackson Square
Cross street: Montgomery
Transit: The Muni bus lines 1 California, 30 Stockton, 10 Townsend and 12 Folsom all stop within a block or two of Cotogna. The closest Bart stop, Montgomery Station, is a 10 minute walk.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Loved everything about Cotogna, the atmosphere was low key and unpretentious, the service was stellar and not rushed, the food was amazing. I would strongly recommend that you order a few dishes at a time and share family style to not miss out. We were a party of four and shared 3 appetizers (caviar, squid and prosciutto dolce), we moved from there to sharing the focaccia special, 3 pastas (brown butter ravioli, crab pasta and the little pillow pasta filled with sausage) and 2 desserts (tiramisu ice cream and the cannolis). Every dish from start to finish never disappointed BUT if we were to pick our favorites albeit difficult to do so we could have easily repeated the squid and all the pastas! Bravo Cotogna!

Date of visit: March 2020
1  Thank majoresq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (485)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 485 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

As an italian my self i ave to say its a very good place. Many coices of foods. A very good place to celebrate. Waitors are real nice

Date of visit: March 2020
Thank SilvaGman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2020 via mobile

Great quality food and actually italian. The flavours were very Italian and amazing! A little pricy but worth it for a special ocassion

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank LauraRguezRguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2020

Had dinner here with family. Very good Italian place. The food was excellent. Wide set of choices. Service was friendly and efficient. Place was packed on a Sunday night. Decent value for money by SFO standards. Would recommend if you are looking for a higher end Italian.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BigSur707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2019 via mobile

Met old friends for lunch here today. We sampled a bunch of dishes: Carpaccio, Sformato, the Prosciutto with gnocchi, The mushroom pizza, Petrale sole, the Agnolotti pasta (like tortellini), with several meats, the Tagliatelle with Modenese sauce, and the famous Raviolo in brown butter. All were hits with the single exception being the sole, which our companion thought cooked a bit too much. Our server (Rebekah) was gracious though not much of a guide. The place is somewhat packed, but light and very comfortable. Drinks and wine were unfortunately priced higher than they should be, though we partook anyway.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank aowats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cotogna also viewed

 

Been to Cotogna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing