We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
San Francisco

“Fantastic Italian ”
Review of Cotogna

Cotogna
Ranked #134 of 6,197 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Jackson Square
Cross street: Montgomery
Transit: The Muni bus lines 1 California, 30 Stockton, 10 Townsend and 12 Folsom all stop within a block or two of Cotogna. The closest Bart stop, Montgomery Station, is a 10 minute walk.
Reviewed December 12, 2016 via mobile

Go to Cotogna for a great Italian meal, lunch or dinner, equally as good. Simple Italian fare but very well executed. Sitting at the kitchen counter offers a great experience as you can chat with the chefs or just watch them preparing the dishes you are about to eat. Booking is essential, this place is always busy.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank The3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 131 of 483 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2016 via mobile

Fresh!!! The food and experience Chef Michael Tusk delivers reflects his humble, quiet nature. The food is palate pleasing, rich and balanced in flavor, yet light. Cotogna makes you feel at home. This is a gem and will not disappoint! We would highly recommended to everyone.

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank sportress1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2016 via mobile

I ate here three times ( two dinners and one lunch) over five days whilst visiting San Francisco.
Every meal was great. Excellent atmosphere sitting at the bar watching the chefs at work on the wood fired grill and pizza ovens.
Veal chop was sensational. I would have had the steak which looked great but it is too big for one person. Significantly better than the other highly rated places I ate at whilst in SF.

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank Alistair H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2016 via mobile

Walked past yesterday and saw how amazing the food looked so booked lunch today. It is absolutely amazing - Italian with a twist. You can taste every ingredient in every dish so much so that we ordered the broccoli antipasto twice.

If we weren't leaving tomorrow would go again and again.

Highly highly recommend if you're in San Francisco.

Date of visit: October 2016
1  Thank Newt81_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2016

Was here in September on a later Friday afternoon for lunch. The restaurant was crowded and had a great atmosphere without being too loud or noisy to talk to your companion(s). We started with the Burata, which was awesome, and then had pastas - both of which were excellent. We enjoyed our mean and would definitely recommend.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank ARA133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cotogna also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Cotogna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing