We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
San Francisco
Post
Inbox
Search

“Delicious lunch!”
Review of Cotogna

Cotogna
Ranked #138 of 6,915 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Jackson Square
Cross street: Montgomery
Transit: The Muni bus lines 1 California, 30 Stockton, 10 Townsend and 12 Folsom all stop within a block or two of Cotogna. The closest Bart stop, Montgomery Station, is a 10 minute walk.
Reviewed October 27, 2016

Was here in September on a later Friday afternoon for lunch. The restaurant was crowded and had a great atmosphere without being too loud or noisy to talk to your companion(s). We started with the Burata, which was awesome, and then had pastas - both of which were excellent. We enjoyed our mean and would definitely recommend.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank ARA133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 135 of 483 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2016

the food was wow . we sat at the kitchen area bar which was cool and we could ask what they were making. the black cabbage was yummy. actually all the food was good. try the pizza or the pastas or the duck. u wont be disappointed with any of your choiices. liked the fact that all the wine was $50 a bottle.

btw the bread was good too

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank l1jjc0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2016

Long time fan of Quince, this reminds me of the original Quince. Everything and everyone was great. We loved talking to the mgr that evening (Alex), she was incredible and took great care of us. Can't wait to return to Quince on the next visit and experience their tasting menu.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ddavis130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2016 via mobile

It was a beautiful day in the city and we were just going for a walk and there was some outside seating and it was perfect! We started with a couple appetizers and we finally picked what we wanted for dinner. I had this wonderful paste with lamb and my girlfriend had pasta with quilt and we always share so they were both delicious. The restaurant is on Pacific & Montgomery! Great place and the service was great and our company with table next to us was fantastic! Cheers

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank 425jasonv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2016

Being a native San Franciscan, now living in Los Angeles, I yearn for the fog, the hills and the smell of the bay. San Francisco has incredible amount of GREAT eateries. (I feel it surpasses New York, LA and Chicago). If you are in THE CITY, you have to indulge yourself to Cotogna. Located smack in the middle of the financial district, this is the best Italian restaurant in SF (sorry A-16). From the wood burning oven comes some of the tastiest dishes you can find. Meats, pizzas, breads and the seafood....everything is way above its competition. My wife and recently sat at the bar/counter marveling as the chefs crafted the meals. We indulged on locally-made buratta cheese with honey baked in the wood-burning oven---it was incredible. I can go on and on about the other entrees but there isn't enough time. Wine selection is good--interestingly all one price at $50 per bottle....very extensive selection from many of the regions in Italy. Have fun and enjoy the experience! Buon apetito!

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank joesuzu1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cotogna also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Cotogna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing