We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Post
Inbox
Search

“Sunday night rules!”
Review of Cotogna

Cotogna
Order Online
Ranked #137 of 6,918 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Jackson Square
Cross street: Montgomery
Transit: The Muni bus lines 1 California, 30 Stockton, 10 Townsend and 12 Folsom all stop within a block or two of Cotogna. The closest Bart stop, Montgomery Station, is a 10 minute walk.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

On Sunday night Cotogna has a set menu, with wine parings for and extra $32 per person (for 4 courses) or a short list of extremely affordable wines by the bottle at $40, which were fabulous. We arrived on time for our reservation but the guests were dragging out the espresso, so the Assistant GM Benjamin paid attention, we were returning customers, and he apologized and gifted us our drinks at the bar, came over often and we felt well taken care of. For me this is a format most success restaurants need to include on their slow nights. And trust me there was nothing slow about Sunday nights at Cotogna! A successful restaurant is not only delivering quality food, but for me the service is paramount. A new concept, extremely well received, just try and get a reservation!

Date of visit: August 2012
Thank SusanG361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

374 - 378 of 483 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

Just loved the food and the vibe at this restaurant. Sat at the chef's bar and got to watch the pizzas, apps and grilled meats being prepped. Food and staff were great, young vibe. Crowded and busy, but not rushed at all.

Date of visit: August 2012
Thank barweb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Loved the rustic handmade pastas and low key ambience.
I'd have to say- Best pasta in SF.

Our big group had a prix fix menu which included:
- Burrata with grilled crostini: good but Mozza still has the dreamiest burratta
- Grilled Figs with Proscuitto: yummy
- Handmade Tagliatelle with Crab: Amazing- creamy, rich, loads of crab and the pasta was perfect
- Handmade Papperdelle with Lamb Ragu: very rich and dense; very flavorful
- Roasted Lamb: a little too gamey for my taste (generally, i love lamb). the sausage presentation was also a little unappetizing (they coiled it like a small intestine; a little TOO rustic); overall, not our fave dish
- Roasted Heirloom Tomatoes: good; but would have been hard to mess that up
- Zucchini Fritters: delish
- Whole Roasted Peaches Ala mode: delicious; might have been our favorite
- Strawberry Crisp: good

Overall, I'd vote for the pasta.

Note: Strangely, their bathrooms weren't working very well. The tap wasn't working in the bathroom and many a patron came out red-faced and unable to wash their hands, including all the girls at our table and a line of women in the bathroom. They really should look into this.

Date of visit: June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jocelynlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

If you're looking for traditional Italian, go to a restaurant in North Beach. This was more in the category of "designer/California Italian cuisine." Our group had fish and squab for the main dishes, and a side green beans which were unexpectedly spicy. We shared a dessert which was not Italian at all, and we didn't leave a morsel! All dishes were delicious and creative. The restaurant was virtually empty at 6 pm but was filled within the hour. There's a counter where you can have dinner as well if don't want to sit at a table.

Date of visit: July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TravelgalCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Our pizza was burned on the bottom, and tasteless. I think the crust needed a little salt. Our pasta entrees were excellent. Noisy, Be prepared to hear all of your neighbors conversation.

Date of visit: June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Planettraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cotogna also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Cotogna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing