We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
San Francisco
Post
Inbox
Search

“Trendy San Fran with a Brooklyn Vibe”
Review of Cotogna

Cotogna
Order Online
Ranked #137 of 6,918 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Jackson Square
Cross street: Montgomery
Transit: The Muni bus lines 1 California, 30 Stockton, 10 Townsend and 12 Folsom all stop within a block or two of Cotogna. The closest Bart stop, Montgomery Station, is a 10 minute walk.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Just loved the food and the vibe at this restaurant. Sat at the chef's bar and got to watch the pizzas, apps and grilled meats being prepped. Food and staff were great, young vibe. Crowded and busy, but not rushed at all.

Date of visit: August 2012
Thank barweb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

375 - 379 of 483 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

Loved the rustic handmade pastas and low key ambience.
I'd have to say- Best pasta in SF.

Our big group had a prix fix menu which included:
- Burrata with grilled crostini: good but Mozza still has the dreamiest burratta
- Grilled Figs with Proscuitto: yummy
- Handmade Tagliatelle with Crab: Amazing- creamy, rich, loads of crab and the pasta was perfect
- Handmade Papperdelle with Lamb Ragu: very rich and dense; very flavorful
- Roasted Lamb: a little too gamey for my taste (generally, i love lamb). the sausage presentation was also a little unappetizing (they coiled it like a small intestine; a little TOO rustic); overall, not our fave dish
- Roasted Heirloom Tomatoes: good; but would have been hard to mess that up
- Zucchini Fritters: delish
- Whole Roasted Peaches Ala mode: delicious; might have been our favorite
- Strawberry Crisp: good

Overall, I'd vote for the pasta.

Note: Strangely, their bathrooms weren't working very well. The tap wasn't working in the bathroom and many a patron came out red-faced and unable to wash their hands, including all the girls at our table and a line of women in the bathroom. They really should look into this.

Date of visit: June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jocelynlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

If you're looking for traditional Italian, go to a restaurant in North Beach. This was more in the category of "designer/California Italian cuisine." Our group had fish and squab for the main dishes, and a side green beans which were unexpectedly spicy. We shared a dessert which was not Italian at all, and we didn't leave a morsel! All dishes were delicious and creative. The restaurant was virtually empty at 6 pm but was filled within the hour. There's a counter where you can have dinner as well if don't want to sit at a table.

Date of visit: July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TravelgalCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Our pizza was burned on the bottom, and tasteless. I think the crust needed a little salt. Our pasta entrees were excellent. Noisy, Be prepared to hear all of your neighbors conversation.

Date of visit: June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Planettraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We really enjoyed this one. The food was cracking, the bread (provided if you ask) is certainly worth asking for, as is the fresh mozzarella starter. The wood fired oven makes great pizza and the lunch crowd makes for great people watching. Just make sure you dress up nice, we did see some waiters looking down noses at younger people. Well worth seeking out

Date of visit: August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank andrew i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cotogna also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Cotogna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing