We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saving grace is the food”
Review of Cotogna

Cotogna
Order Online
Ranked #137 of 6,918 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Jackson Square
Cross street: Montgomery
Transit: The Muni bus lines 1 California, 30 Stockton, 10 Townsend and 12 Folsom all stop within a block or two of Cotogna. The closest Bart stop, Montgomery Station, is a 10 minute walk.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Tragically and painfully hip, and painfully attitudinal but the saving grace is the food. when we checked in for our reservation the hostess said we were too early so we would have to wait outside (i told her we were 4 minutes early-then she said ok and suddenly our table was ready). the waitress did not seem to want to waitress but eventually warmed up by the end of the night. the saving grace was the food (fantastic bistecca, porchetta and pizza) and the guy with the goatee who brought the food-he was very friendly, solicitous and kind. all in all a good experience because of the food. if it were not for the hostess and waitress it would have been an outstanding 5 star experience. in a city with such fantastic restaurants i am not sure it is worth putting up with attitude for great food and it may not be a good thing for the longevity of the restaurant (although this is only an N=1).

Date of visit: July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank familytravel4_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

381 - 385 of 483 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

In a city full of great restaurants, this is a total winner. The pastas were superb, the mushroom lasagna in particular was insanely delicious. Halibut wrapped in fig leaves melted like butter in your mouth. Great wine list. Lovely room, warm & inviting.

Date of visit: July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank artnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

My wife and I were in SF for a business meeting and were looking for a casual restaurant near our hotel and accidentally found Cotogna on Yelp. We walked in an got the last two seats and the bar which in our opinion turned out to be a better seating option than a table. Our bar tender/ server was Buffalo (since he came from Buffalo New York). Food and service was top notch. Excellent home made pastas and pizza and an informal education on drinks and bar tending. Definitely a place to return and sit at the bar.

Date of visit: June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ICOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Decor was super, our waiter was so knowledgeable about the food & wines, & every wine is available by the glass or bottle! $ 10. a glass or $ 40. bottle. You probably would not recognize any of the labels, but your waiter is the source. Will definitely return. Make your reservations early, as the place is not big & is very popular!

Date of visit: June 2012
Thank CaliforniaLynnie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Enjoyed this place. Nice atmosphere a few blocks from the hustling financial district. Quiet neighborhood. Small and cozy. Good food. Very friendly staff, even when we were splitting items.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vesler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cotogna also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Cotogna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing