We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Post
Inbox
Search

“Really, really good”
Review of Cotogna

Cotogna
Order Online
Ranked #137 of 6,918 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Jackson Square
Cross street: Montgomery
Transit: The Muni bus lines 1 California, 30 Stockton, 10 Townsend and 12 Folsom all stop within a block or two of Cotogna. The closest Bart stop, Montgomery Station, is a 10 minute walk.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

In a city full of great restaurants, this is a total winner. The pastas were superb, the mushroom lasagna in particular was insanely delicious. Halibut wrapped in fig leaves melted like butter in your mouth. Great wine list. Lovely room, warm & inviting.

Date of visit: July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank artnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

382 - 386 of 483 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2012

My wife and I were in SF for a business meeting and were looking for a casual restaurant near our hotel and accidentally found Cotogna on Yelp. We walked in an got the last two seats and the bar which in our opinion turned out to be a better seating option than a table. Our bar tender/ server was Buffalo (since he came from Buffalo New York). Food and service was top notch. Excellent home made pastas and pizza and an informal education on drinks and bar tending. Definitely a place to return and sit at the bar.

Date of visit: June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ICOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Decor was super, our waiter was so knowledgeable about the food & wines, & every wine is available by the glass or bottle! $ 10. a glass or $ 40. bottle. You probably would not recognize any of the labels, but your waiter is the source. Will definitely return. Make your reservations early, as the place is not big & is very popular!

Date of visit: June 2012
Thank CaliforniaLynnie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Enjoyed this place. Nice atmosphere a few blocks from the hustling financial district. Quiet neighborhood. Small and cozy. Good food. Very friendly staff, even when we were splitting items.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vesler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We had a great experience at Cotogna. The atmosphere is friendly but fresh and fun, with brick walls, good lighting, and a wood fire grill. We walked in on a mid-week night expecting a wait, but we were seated right away by the courteous staff who found a spot for us. It is a crowded (loud) and lively place, but we had the attention we needed. The housemade ricotta appetizer was out of this world! My husband ordered the pasta all'amatriciana (pork, tomato, and pecorino) which was absolutely delicious and, in my opinion, truly authentic Italian. My gnocchi was light and perfectly made but a little on the greasy side. No room left for dessert. Wish we had anyway-- the pastry chef was recently featured in Food & Wine mag. Reasonable prices for San Fran. I would definitely go back if we lived close by.

Thank LChipNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cotogna also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Cotogna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing