We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
San Francisco
Post
Inbox
Search

“Lovely Meal But the Hype ?”
Review of Cotogna

Cotogna
Ranked #138 of 6,916 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Jackson Square
Cross street: Montgomery
Transit: The Muni bus lines 1 California, 30 Stockton, 10 Townsend and 12 Folsom all stop within a block or two of Cotogna. The closest Bart stop, Montgomery Station, is a 10 minute walk.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Went here with my husband and adult daughter. We had a lovely meal and we have nothing to complain about. The server recommended a nice bottle of wine and we enjoyed our starters as well as the pasta. We had to call exactly one month in advance to get the reservation and had tried numerous times more spontaneously for probably 6 months without getting a reservation.
There are a plethora of lovely italian restaurants in San Francisco and the East Bay for that matter that can easily compete with Cotogna. I would recommend it for sure, but there are so many great places that I can't understand the hype. There's Delfina and its sister Locanda, there's Flour and Water (also overhyped), there's Pizzaolo and its sister Boot and Shoe in Oakland, there's Dopo in Oakland, there's any number of others.

Date of visit: March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Oaklandish3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

389 - 393 of 483 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2012

I really like Cotogna because the food is so good. The night that we went, the prepared menu included a crostini with fava beans, pasta with pancetta, and braised rabbit (lots of food). I liked the pasta and the braised rabbit the best because it is prepared very well. the bathrooms are really fancy. The service is very friendly and knowledgeable. This is a great place to celebrate a special occasion.

Date of visit: March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank XanderJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

So noisy, and the table are so, so close together. The food was disappointing and the portions were so small. Our water was never refilled, & we noticed that all the other tables had water (in wine bottles) on their tables. We never never offered another class of wine, nor did anyone stop by to see how our different courses were being enjoyed, or not.
Suffice to say we will not be returning to Cotogna. Again, an extreme disappointment, and as others have mentioned, there are so many great restaurants in San Francisco, and unfortunately, we can't count Cotogna as one of them.

Date of visit: March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Betty Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

This one of my new favorites in The City! It has the pedigree of Quince but is casual with a friendly & cool vibe. The menu is varied but the 3 course Menu at $24 is a real steal. The wine list is well chosen and everything is $40. Love this place!

Date of visit: February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

we were in San Fran for the Zinfandel festival. tried a couple weeks out to get a resy on a saturday night. only thing open was around 3 pm, or 10pm. so we took the late time.
we were seated almost immediately, the restaurant is kind of cramped, so is noisy even at that time. they have a nice wine list, with nothing too expensive. they do a lot of wood fire grilled food. smells awesome. we had some pasta dishes that were very good, would like to have tried a pizza as i have heard they are excellent.

Date of visit: January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Daveptaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cotogna also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Cotogna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing