We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super service and food”
Review of Spiazzo Ristorante

Spiazzo Ristorante
Reserve with OpenTable
Spiazzo Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #804 of 5,712 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $13 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ulloa
Transit: Muni Lines K,L,M @ West Portal Station, and Bus Lines 48 & 19.
Description: Spiazzo Ristorante is a warm, welcoming place to go for fantastic Italian cooking. We offer exquisite daily specials, as well as an extensive wine list. Our wood-fired pizza oven emits enticing aromas, while our warm ambiance transports you to another time and place.
San Ramon, California
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Super service and food”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Super find in West Portal Area. Lots of locals (good sign). Metered street parking even tight on a Sun. Service fast efficient and friendly. Food excellent and large portions. Shared Antipasto Misto mixed hors d oeuvres (huge enough for a meal for 2+). I had Scampi Lido 6 large prawns in garlic lemon sauce with carrot garlic mashed potatoes and sautéed veggie . Very tasty took home half. Hubby Grilled flank steak with balsamic sauce with carrot garlic mashed potatoes and sautéed veggies. (don't think he liked ha ha nothing to take home). Shared dessert crème brulee good. Unbelievable value with TravelZoo

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Gloria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    26
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“neighborhood gem - italian style”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

went for lunch and had a great seafood salad -- lots of fish items, calamari, shrimp, fish, clams, mussels. Quiet at at late lunch time of 1:00 -- but good for conversation with old friends -- leisurely and can hear the conversation.

would go there again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank audrey r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“never disappointed”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We usually write reviews of vacation stops. It gives a great pleasure to review our favorite restaurant for over 20 years. It's our neighborhood mainstay. The staff is superb. One thing to notice in a restaurant is staff turnover. At Spiazzo's, not much. If fact, Edwin, our lunch waiter, I believe began as a busboy.

The food is superb. We have ordered practically the entire menu. Not the dessert menu, however, we are usually too full to even glance at it. Their dinner specials nearly always include a risotto. Always good. Well everything is.

In San Francisco, there are hundreds upon hundreds of restaurants. Spiazzo's is not in the glamourpuss category. It just shines in West Portal.

Oh, no small thing, you can have conversations there without shouting!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JimandCarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We wanted Italian and we got authentic Italian. I had the Insalada di Mare which was as good as any I've had in Rome. The second course was Spaghetti ala Vongole which was delicious and served with an abundance of clams. We were a party of six and they were able to fit us in. Everyone raved about the quality of their meals. Service was first rate and friendly on Father's Day. Highly recommend.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank JudgeJim777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Our last stop on a trip to San Francisco”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and I love to stop on our way to the airport at Spiazzo Ristorante, for a wonderful home-cooked Italian meal and superb service. We always feel at home here. Our favorite dishes are the chicken parmesan, "rag" soup, and we love to try the pasta of the day.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Vinopopos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spiazzo Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Spiazzo Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing