We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sons & Daughters

Sons & Daughters
Reserve with OpenTable
Sons & Daughters is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #453 of 5,626 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Union Square
Cross street: Powell
Transit: Cable car at Bush/Powell
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
220 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal at Sons and Daughters. The service was friendly and perfect, the dishes were lovely to look at, and each one consisted of wonderful flavors nicely matched. The 8 course pairing (at $96) was just enough food for my husband and a tad too much for me (which is perfect since I'm a lighter eater). Our favorite dish was the tender, perfectly prepared sturgeon. Our only criticism of the lineup was that the beef, while it tasted great, was unexpectedly tough. But that was a minor hiccup in an otherwise great meal. We shared one wine pairing, and the wines were good but not exceptional.

We are lucky enough to live on the peninsula, and so we will definitely be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AnitaMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    38
    11
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
215 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Only in San Fransisco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Wow
My husband and I consider ourselves "Foodies" so we were excited that this restaurant was so close to out Marriott Hotel in Union Square ( 1 block up)
and even more surprise we were able to get a Saturday Night reservation ( okay we had to go to the 530 seating but that was a small price to pay for the wonderful food event that followed!!)
The service was great and the food unexpected...
Sea Grapes on a Buttermilk puff?? Huh??..YUMMMMMM !!
Wow! and the rest of the evening meal was just like that..
There is no menu..only what the chef has decide to prepare that day , your only choice being whether to Pair Wines or not
The wines were from France , Spain and mostly California but not the usual wineries..It was nice to try others and get a good idea of what else is produced elsewhere in California...
A lot of the vegetables, herbs and plate additives are grown in their own gardens in Los Gatos..
A pricey dinner but VERY much worth every penny...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HHIBLONDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Average food / service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

I've wanted to visit this restaurant for a long time and I really wanted to like it. However, the food was really just average, especially the meat dishes. The vegetable dishes were better but not good enough to make me want to come back again. The plating is beautiful though. It is another Michelin starred restaurant that serves beautiful but average tasting food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MustLoveTruffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
96 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant on Earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

The title to this review is not an overstatement. Sons & Daughters really is the best restaurant on earth. The food is out of the world, amazing staff, great wine list, good vibe. We will be back.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank luisa1071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“World class food, great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was truly a world class experience, but in a very casual and relaxed setting. The mushroom dish with truffles is totally amazing. The squab is delicious . The desserts are wonderfully prepared. Everything is fresh . I ate at Benu , Michael Mina and a few others, this is right up there. Congrats to the inventiveness of the chefs. This should be Two Michelin stars within a year

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank asia6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sons & Daughters also viewed

 

Been to Sons & Daughters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing