We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Energetic lunch at Barbacco”
Review of Barbacco

Barbacco
Reserve with OpenTable
Barbacco is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #540 of 5,712 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Financial District
Cross street: Battery
Transit: Embarcadero Bart Station, Embarcadero Muni Station and all lines that run through Market Street.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Energetic lunch at Barbacco”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The atmosphere at Barbacco is clean, crisp and high energy. The menu is quite varied -- much more than the usual soup and salad joint for lunch. Between the three of us we sampled the lentil stew, a pasta dish and a pork shoulder sandwich with red cabbage and sautéed apples. All were delicious. Wine was a bit on the pricey side but they do pour a tasting glass of 3 ounces. The wait staff was somewhat overworked during the lunch hour but that is a minor flaw. It was quite loud inside and next time I would opt to go just before or just after the main lunch hour.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SFGAL8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    82
    19
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An Italian trattoria right in SF”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I've been to Barbacco twice now and will be back again. It's a true Italian trattoria...great food, casual atmosphere and in San Francisco up the street from Hyatt/Embarcadero and in the heart of the Financial District. Our last visit was pre-theatre with grandchildren and parents and we were well-fed! The menu is varied enough to please a large cross-section of palettes; the service is prompt and pleasant; the location is perfect for businessmen, travelers, and locals. We are so happy to have Barbacco in the 'hood.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DianaE34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 440 helpful votes
“Good Italian food, a little pricy”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is a nice Italian restaurant serving tasty food. All the dishes were good and the service was prompt and friendly. The restaurant has a good ambience and is suitable for a quiet, romantic dinner or for a friendly gathering after work. The prices are a little on the high side, but is to be expected due to the location and quality of food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sushar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice and well priced meal”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I ate dinner here while visitingthe city. The food was very good, and well priced. I had the Flatiron Steak served with sauted mushroom blend and field greens. It was a nice portion and cooked perfectly. The Cauliflower was excellent!!! (I could have ordered seconds). The Apple-Polenta cake was alright...would have been better with a syrup (honey-ginger maybe) to moisten it a bit.
The two evening highlights were the Pinot Noir (OMG) nad the movie they had at the bar...
The downside was I had to sit at the "bar" which I normally enjoy BUT the counter was narrow and the seats uncomfortable so I felt a little cramped.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sidthebeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Went on my recent trip to San Francisco and loved it! The atmosphere is very cool (if you don't like lively, loud places-go elsewhere). We loved it. We started with the the chicken liver and pear n prosciutto crostini. Then we shared the lasagne and Brussels sprouts (fried in duck liver)! Amazing, we really enjoyed it! Would definitely recommend and go back!

Helpful?
Thank parislover1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbacco also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Barbacco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing