We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Wine Country Tour”

The Great Pacific Tour Co.
Ranked #100 of 310 Tours in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since 1978, Great Pacific has been a special tour company. Founded on the belief that a vacation should be relaxing and special, Great Pacific has always provided affordable elegance and excellence. We have always used mini vans, specifically customized for touring. Our guides have always gone the extra mile to make your trip as interesting and pleasant as possible. That's why people often come back again and again to take our tours - a perfect way to discover the San Francisco Bay Area. So, next time you are coming to see San Francisco, give Andy, Tom, Joel, or any one of the other folks at GPT a call, and let us show you this wonderful place we call home.
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"muir woods"
in 27 reviews
"small bus"
in 6 reviews
"napa and sonoma"
in 7 reviews
"domain chandon"
in 2 reviews
"small group"
in 9 reviews
"twin peaks"
in 10 reviews
"wine country"
in 8 reviews
"comfortable bus"
in 2 reviews
"the golden gate bridge"
in 14 reviews
"highly recommend this company"
in 4 reviews
"picked up from our hotel"
in 2 reviews
"visited wineries"
in 3 reviews
"guide driver"
in 2 reviews
"day trip"
in 7 reviews
"san francisco history"
in 2 reviews
"well worth the money"
in 2 reviews
"hop on hop"
in 2 reviews
Filter

137 - 141 of 229 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We booked this tour on the recommendation of the concierge at our hotel. We were picked up in comfortable air-conditioned van by a taciturn young man, who didn’t improve as the morning wore on, although he did provide us with an informative commentary from time to time. There were only three other passengers as another group failed to show. We drove across the Golden Gate Bridge and up through Marin County to Muir Woods. It was a cool morning when we arrived, and it was good to wander through the woods before the weekend visitors arrived in their numbers. We had less than an hour to explore these beautiful redwood trees, but this was just as well as it was quite chilly to linger in the shade of the trees. We left the tour with relief at Sausalito and made our way back independently using the ferry.

Thank paula67Adelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Do not use this tour company if they want to send you with a tour guide named Mary. On a recent trip to San Francisco, we decided to see the city on a tour to see everything in a few hours. We thought it would be a great way to see the main sites and not have to rent a car. We were wrong.

Our guide, Mary, picked us up at the hotel and complained to us about having to pick up the other guests at their hotels. She even told us she would leave two of them if they didn't come out soon. We has just pulled up to their hotel. We had an international group- 2 Americans, a British family of 4, a couple from India and 2 couples from Bangladesh. Our guide was very rude and insulting to the couples from India and Bangladesh. At one point she asked if we wanted to hear her Indian accent which was not only tactless, but absolutely uncalled for. The Indian couple was not amused. She also told them several times if the didn't speak English (which they did) that they needed to get someone to translate for them. She also told all of us numerous times, if we didn't make it back to the bus at stops in time, she would leave us. It was the most unprofessional display I've ever seen in a tour guide or a human being for that matter.

After spending over an hour looking at Victorian homes, we were rushed through Golden Gate Park and Twin Peaks. At every stop she tried to leave before everyone had gotten back on the bus. We spent less than 10 minutes at each location which was ridiculous. She also had most of her facts wrong and when corrected by a member of the British family told him that "things must be different in his country." Again, completely unprofessional and rude.

In the end, we were supposed to take a tour of Fisherman's Wharf and then be taken back to our hotel. She informed us we could be dropped off there and find our own way back to our hotel or be taken directly back to our hotels. This was not how it was explained on the brochure and likely not how it was supposed to be done. She said there was too much traffic at the Wharf (which was not the case as it was not prime or semi tourist time) and I'm fairly sure she just didn't want to drive there.

While driving through Nobb Hill she literally almost hit a pedestrian in a cross walk. Had he not put his hands out to protect himself (his hands hit the side mirror on the bus) she would have hit him. Her response was "you've got to watch out for crazy pedestrians."

I would not ever use this company again. We paid $150 for 2 people to take a tour which consisted of 85% Victorian houses and 5% the main sites of San Francisco. Don't get me wrong, the houses were nice, but I didn't need to see every one of them in the city. Our tour guide was a terrible reflection on the company and the city. I'm so glad she was not our sole representative of SF b/c if so, we'd likely never go back. Her behavior was inexcusable and offensive. She told us she had worked for every tour company in the city and by the end we understood why.

3  Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatPacificTours, Owner at The Great Pacific Tour Co., responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Ashley, we are very sorry and very upset that you had such a negative experience. As described, it is inexcusable. We have taken appropriate steps to assure that this will never happen again. We only wish that you had contacted us directly so that we could have apologized and addressed these issues immediately. We have been in business for over 35 years and have worked hard to do the best job possible every day of the week. We thank you for your feedback to help us strive to achieve our goal of great service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Great Pacific Tour Co. also viewed

 

Been to The Great Pacific Tour Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing