We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible food. Potentially fun, comical experience or a complete disaster”
Review of Red Door Cafe

Red Door Cafe
Ranked #1,414 of 5,735 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Terrible food. Potentially fun, comical experience or a complete disaster”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The food is terrible. Terrible flavors, terrible execution. This is like a menu created by a bunch of middle schoolers.

I assume people like this place because of the non-food experience. It has the potential to be the funniest eating experience or a complete disaster. It could be funny if you know to read the instructions on posted on the window, and if you are not offended by a loud-mouth, dramatic cross dresser for an owner/manager/maitre d'. She will verbally abuse you, make fun of you, compliment you and say completely inappropriate sexual things during your raucous brunch. You can probably figure out if you will like this experience from a review like this.

But the food is just absolutely terrible and that ruined the fun time I had despite my fiancée's and my thick skin and a naughty sense of humor.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crheimy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    5
    1
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
California Coast
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A bit of the bizarre”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Read some of the reviews and thought we would give it a try. Missed the part about not seating more than 3. Needless to say we were turned away. But it was by whom or what that turned us away that made the trip worth it. A ruffled underwear, cowboy booted, glittered paisty wearing host. And that was his total attire. We are still wondering what the rest of the meal would have brought. Erhaps next time.

Helpful?
Thank QuigsCalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Please do not go here”
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

I have never been treated so poorly. I was hesitant to write a poor review, for i think the owner would gloat about it... I have traveleved and dined extensively and have never had such an awful experience.

Helpful?
Thank Bigsuralicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshalltown, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast!”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The french toast was probably the tastiest breakfast I've ever had... very fun and quirky atmosphere. Left there feeling good about life :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jenniferforsale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This is an experience!”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

You wouldn't cook for and invite just anyone into your kitchen for a meal. Well neither will AD, the owner of Red Door Cafe.
I recommend this place for the DELICIOUS food and know that you're not there for a show, you're there for an experience!
My tip to you would be: don't show up with coffee from another establishment, take the sunglasses off and look people in the eye when they talk to you, only pairs of two are seated due to space restrictions and wear a genuine smile on your face :)
Oh and if you're shy or prude, this is not the place for you or for children.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Door Cafe also viewed

San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Red Door Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing