We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of soul”
Review of Melt - CLOSED

Melt
Cuisines: European, Cafe
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lots of soul”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This place carried a lot of SF soul. It was small, nothing fancy, had a live jazz band performing and (most importantly) served fondue! Had the Rarebit Fondue, which was pretty tasty (although I wish there were more varied foods to dip into it-- apples, grapes and cubed bread were provided), and the Belgian Chocolate Fondue (which tasted incredible and had an great assortment of sweets to dip in).

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank clonidine83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    16
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fish Creek, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Fondue”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We live nearby so we gave this a try. The welsh Rarebit is a tasty cheese but I wish there were a few veggies to dip, The music was very good and it is usually early. If you have not had fondue you must try it,,

  • Visited February 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wineguy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Yummy Cheesy Fondue in a lovely cozy space”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I got the groupon for this place on my way down from Vancouver BC on my phone and I'm glad I got it. I would have paid 36$ for fondue for 2, 2 lemon sodas and taxes for two people (which is a pretty good deal for a nice night out for 2 at a night place) for 10$ more you get fondue for 4.

You get a balsamic vinegar salad to start and then a huge bowl of bread and a plate of fresh apples and grapes. I had a very lovely evening with my fiancee. Dipping and playing with the globs of cheese.

Don't expect a low grade salty cheese. This fondue has hints of wine and is very lovely and light. There is a white cheese and then a more cheddary variation. I got the classic one and it was a lovely light dinner for two.

They have live entertainment some nights and I'd love to try this place again the next time I'm in town for some live jazz.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChristinaZurita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder City
Level Contributor
130 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Quaint fondue with music”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Yummy fondue, we had the Welsh Rarebit and it was delish. Served with grapes, apples slices and of course a basket of bread chunks. There was local jazz muscians playing the night we went and it was just the right combination of music and good food. The price is reasonable. The place is small and the bathroom is located out a back door in an alley area. I would go again,

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank CherRuss M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUMBAI
Level Contributor
89 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Ask if they have any live entertainment on - then don't go”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I they had let us know that they have live comedy acts, when we reserved our tables we would have thought again. And done ourselves a great service. For salt less fondue we had to tolerate 4 disgusting stand up comedians. I have never wanted to do a eat- n- run like this ever before.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aparnasomani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melt also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing