We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ambience, Subpar Service and Food Quality”

Alexander's Steakhouse
Reserve a table
2
Mon, 12/6
8:00 PM
OR
Get food delivered
Ranked #336 of 5,821 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $45 - $75
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Mission Bay
Cross street: Between 3rd & 4th
Transit: Caltrain, MUNI
Description: Executive Eric Upper offers a fine dining interpretation of a Modern American Steakhouse with hints of Japanese and other influences throughout the menu. Featuring classic cuts such as Ribeye, Bone-In New York and Filet Mignon, sustainable seafood, our signature Hamachi Shot and the largest variety of Japanese Wagyu Steak in the U.S. (we currently feature 11 types of Japanese Wagyu). We also highlight dry-aged steaks and offer the finest and most luxurious products available including tasting menus and an award-winning wine list designed by Wine Director Maxwell Klassen. The bar program features seasonal ingredients with a Japanese twist, curated by Bar Director Gedeon Tsegaye.
Reviewed April 30, 2016

The food was good but not great. The price is a little steep. I don't mind paying good money for great food and drinks, and I was just left lacking.

There's better alternatives in San Francisco

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jace214
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 115 of 313 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2016

Even though their steaks were pricey, they were some of the best steaks we've ever had. My 20 oz. bone-in rib eye chop ($70) was cooked perfectly at medium rare and it was very tender and flavorful. I'm glad Alexander's doesn't offer A1 steak sauce because that would be an insult to the steak. Only complaint I had was my side dish of spring vegetables. At $16, they brought out a small serving of assorted vegetables, which wasn't even enough to share with others. Other than that, service was excellent and their wine list was pretty extensive.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BayAreaTraveler6338
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2016

A pleasant, though expensive evening, ruined by staff with attitude, coats virtually thrown at us, and the bill delivered before even finishing desert!
We found the experience interesting but not great! Would not recommend to fellow well travelled potential customers looking for a truly great steakhouse! Not this one!!

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank bakerslincolnhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2016

We had a business diner in this great restaurant with nice bar to wait in and open kitchen. We shared some wonderful finger bytes as a starter and went for the superb meat selection.

Date of visit: March 2016
1  Thank 347PeterB347
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2016

As always the steaks were great. The same unfortunately cannot be said for the service. My partner ordered an asparagus salad with her steak (actually a starter dish). What arrived was a small side salad which we sent back. There was barely an apology but they said the salad would be right out. When we had almost finished our meal we called the waiter over to cancel the salad. Again barely an apology. Then the bill arrived and there was the asparagus salad! We didn't even get offered a cup of coffee as compensation. The staff need to be trained to take ownership of a problem and sort it. Rather spoilt the meal and we will be going to other steakhouses in San Francisco in future.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank tonyjames4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alexander's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Alexander's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.