We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tacolicious

Tacolicious
Ranked #389 of 5,643 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Description: Tacolicious is by no means a traditional taqueria-you won't find burritos here. What started out in the summer of 2009 as a little taco stand at the Thursday Ferry Plaza Farmers Market with a fittingly frivolous name, has become a sit-down, cocktail-driven restaurant, 120 tequilas strong. Tacos anchor a menu that extends to dishes such as beet salad with grapefruit and pumpkin seeds, tuna tostadas, grilled squid served Veracruz-style, albondigas, shrimp a la diabla, and toasted coconut flan. Like many native Californians, Mexican food is in us. Though we grew up traveling to Mexico regularly (and still do), it took a trip to Mexico City-where the food is served in settings as sophisticated and urban as you'll find anywhere in the world-for us to realize that tacos don't have to be relegated to street food or a corner mom-'n'-pop. We're proud to be based in San Francisco, a town where the words local, sustainable and organic have become so redundant that they make you want to yawn. But just in case you were wondering about our menu: The answer is almost always, "Yes, yes and yes."
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

We had some great tacos and ceviche, right on Chestnut ave. there are lots of places to eat on this street but we decided on it because it had a lot of people and we now know why. It seems to be a local favorite.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    89
    20
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming and Amazing taco !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Even during a 49e play-off afternoon I was able to get a table outside ! This is the most amazing taco I had in a long time. Service is super fast and servers are agreeable. Dos xxx , tacos , chips sauce , service all for a great time!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Serge D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
219 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Lively and moderately priced on Chestnut”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Arrived at 7:45p on a mid-January Saturday night and the place was crazy. Over an hour wait but the hostess was very nice to us and handled the crowds very well. Our 23 year old daughter liked the butternut squash taco and brussel sprouts. Husband and I shared 4 tacos. The braised beef short rib tacos were delicious. The carnitas were very dry and not good. The drunken beans were horrible. Food was delivered very quickly and overall pretty reasonably priced. Not sure we would go back but okay for one night.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveToTravel524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
470 reviews
379 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
“Outstanding late lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

THIS RELEATES TO THE MISSION LOCATION -

In the heart of the Mission (741 Valencia & 19th Street) this was my final meal during a recent trip to Northern California.

I ordered a Margarita Fresca (blood orange and mandarin) to start while I perused the menu. I settle don the baby squid dish and the Camarones al Diablo. The Squid was outstanding; served with garbanzo beans (chick peas), and not terribly spicy, this was a low key dish expertly executed.

The shrimp on the other hand was messy; a chunky tomato super-spicy sauce disappointed as the flavour of the shrimp is almost entirely disguised.

Notwithstanding the shrimp dish, Service was superb and the atmosphere was fun if not terribly friendly. This is a hipster take on a Mexican tacqueria - lots of posing opportunities and plenty of luvvies wanting to be seen through the big windows and the outdoor seating.

Their wi-fi didn't work.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FreshEire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yum.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great service, fun/casual atmosphere, great selection of delicious but not-so-typical food and drinks. Most notably, their cheese dip is the very best I have EVER had.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank KFPM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tacolicious also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Tacolicious? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing