We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different, but good!”
Review of Tacolicious

Tacolicious
Ranked #331 of 5,693 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Description: Tacolicious is by no means a traditional taqueria-you won't find burritos here. What started out in the summer of 2009 as a little taco stand at the Thursday Ferry Plaza Farmers Market with a fittingly frivolous name, has become a sit-down, cocktail-driven restaurant, 120 tequilas strong. Tacos anchor a menu that extends to dishes such as beet salad with grapefruit and pumpkin seeds, tuna tostadas, grilled squid served Veracruz-style, albondigas, shrimp a la diabla, and toasted coconut flan. Like many native Californians, Mexican food is in us. Though we grew up traveling to Mexico regularly (and still do), it took a trip to Mexico City-where the food is served in settings as sophisticated and urban as you'll find anywhere in the world-for us to realize that tacos don't have to be relegated to street food or a corner mom-'n'-pop. We're proud to be based in San Francisco, a town where the words local, sustainable and organic have become so redundant that they make you want to yawn. But just in case you were wondering about our menu: The answer is almost always, "Yes, yes and yes."
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Different, but good!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I was recommended by a good friend of mine to try this place while visiting San Francisco. At first it seems almost indie themed, but it is unique in itself. Your seated by waiters/waitresses who are dressed very casually. As soon as you're seated, they give you menus and a pitcher or water that's served in old liquor bottles. (Definitely interesting) The menu has a good couple of options as far as food goes, it should be able to suit any taste buds. The albacore salmon tostadas were delicious! For a couple though, make sure your looking to spend 40-60$ just on the food itself.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ValleyGirlW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    92
    20
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delicious food, slightly scary loo.”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Tacolicious opens at 11:30am on a Sunday. We arrived there at 11:25 and were second in line to get in. By noon, every single seat in the place was full. It seems like a very popular spot.
The service was great and the food delicious. We had a pitcher of great sangria, my two friends shared a 4-taco plate and I had a burrito. I was so full from the chips and salsa that was delivered while we waited that I couldn't finish my burrito.
The only thing I wasn't crazy about was the fact that the bathroom is pretty much in the kitchen and didn't seem to be being checked too regularly. Then again, it was superbowl Sunday, so that may not always be that busy there.
I would go back in a heartbeat. Get the guacamole!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Yum-o...!!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Met up with a friend for dinner when I was in town for business. This was a treat!! Upper scale street-style tacos (I had the taco of the week and carnitas - they were both amazing). I don't think you could go wrong with anything on the menu...it's one of those kinds of places. I had the "Tickle Me Telmo" off the drink menu. It was yummy as well (although it didn't taste all that different than a well made traditional margarita).
It's not a very big place, and it's pretty loud. You can tell it's a trendy spot in the area based on it's popularity.
Would definitely eat here again!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank COGirl_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Tacos”
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Great atmosphere, super-friendly service despite the fact the place is always packed, and good tacos.

Helpful?
Thank Renato M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Delicious and fresh”
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Delicious tacos, fresh, simple ingredients, quick but filling.

Three tacos were PLENTY for each of us, especially with the amount if chips and spicy queso we had before the tacos.

We had a marina girl salad, simple and delicious.

Tacos:
Fish tacos were great, we were with locals who advised us to get the fish grilled, rather than fried as on the menu. Great suggestions, light, fresh with a little coleslaw on top for sweetness.

Short rib taco was amazing. Shredded beef generously heaped on a taco.

Others had the beer chicken tacos and the short rib/chorizo taco of the week and loved them.

Brussel sprouts were god but a bit heavy on the lemon.

Only irritation: $3 for a diet coke and they never refilled it. Service a bit gruff, just threw things on the table.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KKWalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tacolicious also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Tacolicious? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing