We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Real Downtown Tour, San Francisco”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Real S.F. Tour

The Real S.F. Tour
Ranked #9 of 284 Tours in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Real SF Tour offers 4 incredible tours merging sightseeing and trekking with public transit for the most authentic visitor experience in San Francisco. Part urban adventure, part urban trek, and totally green, The Real SF Tours take you where no other tours can go. You’ll visit enchanted gardens, secret stairways, glorious rooftop views, and some of the city’s coolest neighbourhoods. You’ll be avoiding large crowds of tourists while experiencing the real culture of San Francisco and learning about its rich and storied history. You’ll traverse the city on Cable Cars, Light Rail, and City Buses. You must be able to walk 4 separate uphill 1.5 block sections, there are a total of 6 uphill flights of stairs, and 15 downhill flights of stairs, spread throughout the day. The day encompasses over 5 miles of walking including short uphill sections and hidden stairways that most people find extremely enjoyable. If you do not walk regularly this tour may be more challenging than enjoyable. If you have any difficulty going up and downstairs we do not recommend this tour. Please only wear comfortable closed toe walking shoes. Tours run daily departing from the California St Cable Car turnaround.
Carthage, Illinois
1 review
“The Real Downtown Tour, San Francisco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

I highly recommend this tour. It was worth every dollar. Chris was the best tour guide...laid back and easy going. It was awesome to see San Fran through his eyes. Thank you, Chris!!! Hope we meet again.
Tammy B. (Illinois)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tammy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    763
    45
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Carbon, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The name says it all!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Active way to get a wonderful overview of this colorful city- enjoyed tourists spots from other vantage points & we enjoyed the varied neighborhoods. My husband & I weren't sure this would hold our 2 preteen kids attention, but it did! 8 hours of walking & varied public transportation covered way more than we could have ever done following an guidebook app. Chris is organized, efficient & has a passion & knowledge for his city! Thank you Chris!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DR803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highlight of our trip in San Francisco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Chris led this tour with great enthusiasm and love for his city. We saw so many neighbourhoods and hidden corners, and it was a good blend of walking and public transport. No waiting for buses or trains as we got to each stop just before the bus arrived, due to his phone app. The tour gave such a good overview of what the city has to offer, away from the obvious tourist areas, and we went back to some of the special neighbourhoods later in our stay in San Francisco.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Adi2014222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best tour of San Francisco!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

If you had never been into San Francisco, this is probably the first thing you should book. You will definitely not regret this experience.

The Real SF Tour takes you into an insider's journey through the most famous landmarks of San Francisco. Cleverly using most of the public transportation available, you'll be able to visit most of the SF neighborhoods.

While it can be a little stressful for people who are not fit (since you walk about 3 miles), it is well worth the walk. For photo lovers, this tour will take you to places that are great for photo ops.

Our tour leader Katya really knew her stuff. Very friendly and knowledgeable of San Francisco history. Would highly recommend.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Baretty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Tour!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Just did the The Real SF Tour based on recommendations and our group was not disappointed. The tour was absolutely amazing, as was our guide, Sean! In my opinion this was the best way to see the city. We took all different modes of transit, (cable car, bus, subway...) in order to see many different neighborhoods. It was great to be able to see so much of SF all in one day and learn about much of it's culture and history. I highly recommend this tour, it was the highlight of my trip!!! :)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank yumyum786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Real S.F. Tour also viewed

 

Been to The Real S.F. Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing