We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing - don't miss this.”
Review of The Real S.F. Tour

The Real S.F. Tour
Ranked #9 of 287 Tours in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Real SF Tour offers 4 incredible tours merging sightseeing and trekking with public transit for the most authentic visitor experience in San Francisco. Part urban adventure, part urban trek, and totally green, The Real SF Tours take you where no other tours can go. You’ll visit enchanted gardens, secret stairways, glorious rooftop views, and some of the city’s coolest neighbourhoods. You’ll be avoiding large crowds of tourists while experiencing the real culture of San Francisco and learning about its rich and storied history. You’ll traverse the city on Cable Cars, Light Rail, and City Buses. You must be able to walk 4 separate uphill 1.5 block sections, there are a total of 6 uphill flights of stairs, and 15 downhill flights of stairs, spread throughout the day. The day encompasses over 5 miles of walking including short uphill sections and hidden stairways that most people find extremely enjoyable. If you do not walk regularly this tour may be more challenging than enjoyable. If you have any difficulty going up and downstairs we do not recommend this tour. Please only wear comfortable closed toe walking shoes. Tours run daily departing from the California St Cable Car turnaround.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing - don't miss this.”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We may well have left San Francisco thinking differently about the city had we not taken this tour! Sean brought the city alive and took us round so many different districts via just about every mode of transport. His commentary and knowledge was invaluable and brought San Francisco alive. My only regret is that we didn't get to do the tour earlier in our stay. Don't miss this tour - it is kept quite small making it a more intimate experience. Jean 23 October 2012

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JWeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    764
    45
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A must!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was absolutely one of the best tours I have been on. We took this tour the morning after our arrival. It really helped us [more comfortably and independently] navigate our way through San Francisco during our week long stay. Genie was an excellent tour guide. She was patient, informative, and very friendly. You could tell she really knows the ins and outs of the city. We had the opportunity to take many great photos and interact with the residents of the city. We visited places we would have not known about had it not been for this tour. There is a fair amount of walking. However, in addition to walking, you will experience/use all forms of San Francisco public transportation. I highly recommend this tour and suggest taking it during the beginning of your visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank budgetbuddy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great way to see San Francisco”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had a great time on our tour of a number of neighbourhoods in San Fran. Sean did a great job of showing off the city and giving us a bit of history as well as modern day San Francisco. It is a lot of walking but was not too strenuous. We would highly recommend it too anyone visiting the city. The price seemed very reasonable Thanks.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank EliannaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly, informative, fantastic value”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We visited San Francisco towards the end of September, I'd booked the tour from home online and the process could not have been easier. I liked the sound of this tour because it sounded like you would get under the skin of the city, we were not disappointed. Chris our guide was very knowledgeable and took us all over the city from Chinatown to Russian Hill in the north to the Castro and Mission in the south, and loads more. There's a fair amount of walking involved, some stairs, none of which are that steep or long, and you get to sample all the modes of transport as well. The view of the city from a high point in North Beach has to be seen, and then he takes you to Dolores Park for a view from the south, and it just blows you away, what a view. We don't normally go on guided tours preferring to read up and do our own thing, however, I'm so glad that this time I chose this tour, we really felt that we got to understand the city just a little bit. Honestly, if don't do anything else make sure you book this tour.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lapparsteche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Great Experience”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We have spent quite a bit of time in San Francisco. We occasionally go there for a week at a time. Even with our combing the city on our own, we really enjoyed The Real San Francisco tour. Sean our guide made the day interesting and informative. Its a lot of walking, but that is the best way to see the city. None of it is too taxing, I am 68 and my wife 66, and we had no problem with the physical side of the tour, but we do walk a lot for exercise. It was nice to get a better understanding and some historical perspective of some of the sights. We returned to several of the sights on the remaining days of our stay. A fun time well worth your time and effort.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dalaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Real S.F. Tour also viewed

 

Been to The Real S.F. Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing