We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun but needs improvement”
Review of Magic Bus

Magic Bus
Book In Advance
More Info
$100.50*
and up
Rock 'n' Roll Combo: Alcatraz and Magic Bus San Francisco Tour
Ranked #79 of 299 Tours in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Bus Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Magic Bus. Magic Bus blends past and present in a psychedelic journey through San Francisco's rich counter-culture history. This two-hour “trip” aboard a brightly painted vintage bus weaves a visual narrative of San Francisco from Beatniks to the Summer of Love and beyond! With retractable window screens and digital micro-projectors, Magic Bus uses innovative technology to create a mobile movie theater on a bus. See San Francisco through a new window of altered perception and historical context. Sing along to classic tunes with our hippie hostess. Flash peace signs to passers-by as bubbles swirl from the bus. Stroll through the grass in Golden Gate Park with a flower in your hair, all on your time-traveling adventure aboard Magic Bus! Building on a 30 year history of original, site-specific productions, including the original Alcatraz Cell House Tour, Antenna Theater presents a new kind of tour experience- the Magic Bus!
Reviewed July 27, 2013

we ended up on the bus as part of the Alcatraz trip. i was was a little sceptical , the girl who did the narration was very funny and knowledgable , unfortunately the sound system was intermittent so we struggled at time to hear what she was saying , the driver was great fun also . the film screens that came down were a great idea , although I found the images quite poor quality , maybe my glasses didn't help this.over all though it was great fun , you see San Francisco from a completely different angle from the normal hop on , Hop off bus. I think these guys are heading in the right direction.i learnt a lot from the "trip" , this was our second trip to the city and this tour added to the experience. maybe a stop at a bar first up , for a shot of Tequila , would have really got the bus rockin....

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
2  Thank jeff g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Owner at Magic Bus, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience! We have taken your comments into consideration and greatly appreciate your feedback, as it helps us to provide the best Magic Bus experience possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"school bus"
in 3 reviews
"interactive experience"
in 3 reviews
"news clips"
in 2 reviews
"outer space"
in 2 reviews
"peace sign"
in 2 reviews
"the haight ashbury district"
in 3 reviews
"combo ticket"
in 2 reviews
"tie dye"
in 2 reviews
"video presentation"
in 2 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 10 reviews
"great fun"
in 10 reviews
"tour guide"
in 12 reviews
"golden gate park"
in 12 reviews
"interesting sights"
in 2 reviews
"great info"
in 2 reviews
"financial district"
in 2 reviews
"fantastic tour"
in 3 reviews
Filter

146 - 150 of 206 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

Right, first of all, this isn't a normal tour - far from it, this is travelling theatrical education at its best.

Although it's hard to describe it without spoiling what you may expect, I'll try and give an overall impression.

Combine a historical timeline of human, musical, cultural and pharmaceutical events with an audio-visual experience that you really wouldn't expect - put it on a hippie bus and add a couple great hosts - in character - and you're in for a truly memorable ride.

A few technical inaccuracies - but by no means important as nobody really remembers the 60s anyway eh? (especially those of us who were alive at the time... )

We booked this as a 'combo' with an Alcatraz ticket - but to be honest, the Magic Bus is worth doing anyway - just book it, open your mind, and enjoy the peace and love my tribe!

3  Thank Dr_Martyn_Bailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Owner at Magic Bus, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you for sharing the peace and love! We hope to welcome you aboard again on your next trip to San Francisco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I've lived in San Francisco for 16 years and this was one of the most fun experiences I've had in this city. Learned something new at every turn. This experience really does reflect the genuine camaraderie and creativity in this town. It's 100x's better than any other tour, plus there are goodies to take with you. It's worth the price and will be a huge treat for any age.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
2  Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Owner at Magic Bus, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you for sharing your Magic Bus experience! We're so glad that you enjoyed this exerience and we would love to share it with your friends in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a must do tour. Our guide was fun loving and energetic! We loved the bubble blowing bus! We highly recommend the tour.

2  Thank Lina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Owner at Magic Bus, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you for joining us back in time aboard the bubble blowing bus! We greatly appreciate the feedback. We hope to welcome you and some new groovy friends in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I took my father (66), niece (11) and daughter(15) on the Magic Bus. When we got to the pick up area they thought we were waiting for one of the typical buses that were picking up others from the same area, but when our bus came they were quite surprised! All the others hanging around and waiting for the other tour buses were saying they wanted to go on ours and I even heard a couple tour guides saying they wanted to go on the Magic Bus someday. We had a great time. The tour was educational yet tons of fun, the tour guides were so much fun that my daughter wanted to know how to get that job. I would recommend highly recommend this tour.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
3  Thank Kimberly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Owner at Magic Bus, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you for experiencing the Magic Bus with your family! We're glad that you had fun and would love to welcome you aboard again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magic Bus also viewed

 

Been to Magic Bus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing