We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Prancing Pony.”
Review of La Trappe Cafe

La Trappe Cafe
Ranked #1,004 of 5,741 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: Belgian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Russian Hill
Tucson, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Prancing Pony.”
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Go to the basement. Amazing beer and bar food experience. The beer menu is extensive and tasty. Recommend the "Wallovian Hot Dog".

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AZWahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    21
    3
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shillington, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Belgian at it's best!”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Found this little pub by accident while asking a local for directions. They have hundreds (I swear) of Belgian beers to choose from and some of them on tap! Add to that some great Belgian food to go with the beer and you have an awesome place to stop for dinner!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Is it a bier bar or a Belgium restaurant?”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The answer is, I am not sure. My point of reference is Mannequin Pis in Olney, Maryland, which is consistently rated as one of the best restaurants in the city.,

Because you can't rank various aspects separately, I decided to rank the place as average overall.

I'll start with the great part; the broth from the Spicy Tomato Mussels. It was delicious, and I could have been gloriously happy consuming the broth along with dipping my bread in it all night!! The mussels were cooked perfectly, but I felt the broth overpowered the relatively delicate nature of the mussels.

The not great, but not bad part...
I ate at the bar and asked the bartender for a beer to enjoy while I was waiting for my mussels and one to go with my mussels. The good part, they were both excellent, The bad part was that it took forever to get the first beer from the tap due to being foamy and I was still drinking it when my mussels arrived. The bartender still hadn't decided what I ought to have with the mussels and it took him a while to get it served up. Maybe it was because he had been up since 5:30am, but it was dissapointing. Since I know the mussels have been on the menu for a long time, how could he have not had at least several beers he could have recommended instantaneously. When i went to Monk's Kettle the following night, the bartender there exemplified what a great bartender ought to be like.

The forgetable...
The fries and the dipping sauce. Mannequin Pis sets a very high bar for fries and dipping sauces and here La Trappe's offering was mediocre. I though it might have been my cold, but when I had great fries at the Monk's Kettle the following night, I knew I was right. Unfortunately the fries come with the mussels.

The dipping sauces (flavored mayos) were dull in flavor. The fries were relatively crisp on the outside but inside was somewhat pasty and lacking in a rich potato flavor.

Not having been to Belgium, I not sure what a Belgium bar have in the way fo atmosphere. I can only say that it just felt like a very non-descript place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Basement beer bar”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Went with a party of six -- three women who were not interested in beer were left with a paltry wine selection, and a waiter whose response was "I only know about the beers." Food was below average, and for an early evening reservation they were out of their Belgian special, the Seafood Waterzooi, and the safer non-mussel choice, Spaghetti Bolognese. The one mussel eater among us was stunned at the enormous portion, but underwhelmed by the preparation. No one enjoyed it very much, as the phone-book sized beer list did not make up for the problems. This is a basement beer bar worth a look. Bring your beer-drinking buddies.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarnyCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great beer selection”
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Huge 50 page beer menu with tons of international and local beers to chose from. Staff were knowledgeable without being pretentious.

Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed La Trappe Cafe also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to La Trappe Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing