We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, a little pricey” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fondue Cowboy

Fondue Cowboy
Reserve with OpenTable
Fondue Cowboy is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,119 of 5,626 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: SoMa
Cross street: Russ Street
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, a little pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We found the food to be pretty good and it had a good wine list. Overall, the food was pretty good, but it was a bit pricey. The potatoes they give you with the fondue were great.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    12
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Unique Treat, cozy ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stumbled on this place on our way to another restaurant, and it was a pleasant detour and felt like a neighborhood restaurant. The vibe in the place we cozy and small enough to not be terribly loud. Our server was friendly and helpful and the Fondue was sublime! I like that we had so many options of type of cheeses and fondue ingredients, as well as the items to dip with (breads, apples, grapes, baby pickles, etc.) I don't know if I would eat a huge meal there, but this place is excellent for drinks and appetizers.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JULESVEGAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Great food! Wonderful portions and a variety of dipping items for the fondue. Would go again if I went back to the city. Could get a bit pricey with a large group. Location is a bit out of center city. Would take a cab.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank penniless-thoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poke and Dip!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Had a great time at Fondue Cowboy. Definitely has a neighborhood feel. It was fun watching the people from our table by the window. We enjoyed the fondue and the sausage plate also hit the spot. All was good!! Grapes dipped in fondue - my new favorite.Thank you for a fun time!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TeresaMarica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
200 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“And if you like cheese ~ you better try hard to get here...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

I happened to be wearing a poncho and cowboy boots which was perfect for the cowboy environment that I walked into ~ decor and food are top notch and no crowds! I was so delighted to find this place last night and I'm still full the next morning. Save room for the dark chocolate fondue at the end as it's a must-try as well. I will go back as often as I can.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mackanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fondue Cowboy also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Fondue Cowboy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing