We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oustanding tour and outstanding service”
Review of Max Napa Tours

Max Napa Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome the Max Napa Tours! We offer full-day Private and Semi-Private wine tours to Napa Valley, Northern Sonoma or Sonoma Valley. Tours are done in luxury SUV's, with seating for up to six people. We pick up directly from most hotels in San Francisco or Wine Country, and will put together a unique itinerary based on group preferences. The same tour has never been done twice! We typically visit small family-owned vineyards, producing handcrafted wines only available through the tasting room. Winemakers will greet you as friends. You are also able to make specific winery requests. All guides are certified Sommeliers, providing you the perfect balance of knowledge and fun!
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Oustanding tour and outstanding service”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Having never been to San Francisco or anywhere in the area, we wanted to take a tour of wine country during our stay. We found Max on trip advisor and it is a lucky thing that we did. Max was awesome. When I contacted him, he called me to discuss his tours and more importantly the type of wine that we liked. He planned the tour based on our tastes. They only take 6 people maximum per tour which was very appealing to us and well worth the price they charge. We did not want to be on a tour bus with 20 other people. It turns out that no one else booked a tour that day so it was just my husband and me. Our driver Evan was wonderful. He was very knowledgeable about the area, the history of wine in California and he planned visits to smaller wineries that we never would have found on our own. It was a wonderful day. He was a wonderful guide and if we come back to the area we will definitely use them again. It was fantastic.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ShannonME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    8
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing Day Trip!”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

In June 2013, I came with my boyfriend in and another couple to San Francisco for a 5 day trip. We wanted to spend some time in Sonoma without staying overnight. This trip was perfect! Evan picked us up at the W Hotel around 9am. We picked two women who were joining us on our trip. We were worried we wouldn't get along but ended up exchanging emails and phone numbers by the end of the trip!

Evan was spot on with his choices and was informative without being condescending of our very limited wine knowledge. He took us to all of the best vineyards. We had a great lunch at Barndive.

Overall, we were very pleased with the trip and with Evan. Highly recommended - even if you do join a group tour - we made great friends!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank VeroPat89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Sonoma wine tour - relaxing, informative & fun”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

A group of business colleagues added a day to a business trip, and engaged Evan of Max Napa Tours for a trip to Sonoma - it was a delightful day and I recommend it highly! Evan was informative (without any wine snobbiness) and made the day easy and worry free for his customers. His vehicle was immaculate, and he was a great driver (no carsickness for those of us prone to it), and most importantly, I learned without being lectured. He shared information, background, color commentary, but he followed his customers' leads and suggestions, too. The trip was a great bargain for the number of wineries visited (6) and miles driven, and we visited boutique wineries that gave us the opportunity to sample and buy bottles that we don't find in stores at home. I will definitely use Max Napa Tours (and Evan) for another wine country day on a future visit.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Canyon, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Way to See 'n Sip!”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Evan picked us up at our hotel at 9 am, and we were off on a fun and informative tour of six of Sonoma's boutique wineries. Based on our phone conversation while booking the tour, and our preliminary conversation in the car, Evan selected wineries he thought would appeal to us, and he was spot on with his choices! Very knowledgeable and with a quick sense of humor, Evan expanded our, shall we say, LIMITED knowledge about wine and by the end of the day we truly felt we could articulate our opinions about the various wines and not embarrass ourselves.
The tour is limited to six, but we were fortunate to book during the winter off-season, and were the only two people on our day. We were each able to sample a different flight at the wineries, and ended up purchasing something at each stop. Evan would store it in the car for us, and then took us to a shipper experienced at packing and shipping wine at the end of the day. Since the weather has been extremely cold, the shipper said he would store the wine for us until the weather conditions in our area improved, and the wine could be shipped without the temperatures affecting it.
I mentioned that we like Mexican food, and Evan took us to Mateo's Cucina Latina in Healdsburg for lunch, which we enjoyed.
We are already planning our next trip, and will definitely book another MAX NAPA TOUR!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank scubamom1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coluumbus, Ga
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent wine tour”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We had a wonderful time on our wine tour in Sonoma with our guide Evan. He picked up our group of 4 promptly at our San Francisco hotel in his very comfortable Ford Expedition. We learned a lot about wine and felt that Evan was very knowledgeable on this subject. He was informative and interesting at the same time, which is not always an easy feat. We stopped to see some redwoods before our first winery and even with a leisurely and wonderful lunch at Barndiva in Healdsburg, we were able to go to 6 wineries of various sizes and with a great variety of wines to taste. We truly enjoyed our tour with Evan and would highly recommend the tour to any wine enthusiasts.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cphillside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Max Napa Tours also viewed

 

Been to Max Napa Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing