We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch”
Review of Darren's Cafe

Darren's Cafe
Ranked #77 of 5,712 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Chinese, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Gilze, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Today we sat down after walking around Fishermans Warf at Darren's Cafe. My partner decided to take some pancakes and I chose the Vietnamese sandwich(beef). Both dishes were served quickly and tasted very nice. The only thing we noticed to be a bit strange was a waitress answering her cell phone while she was in the middle of a conversation with a customer.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bianca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    149
    29
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great little spot!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

While in San Francisco and touring the city me and my wife stumbled onto this place as we were looking for breakfast/brunch. My wife only had a bagel but I tried the vietnamese beef sandwich which had jalapenos on it and it was outstanding. We definitely lucked out by running into this place and I would suggest it to anyone who is down near the waterfront. They had a tonne of options so should suit just about anyone's taste buds. The service wasn't the best of all time but they did take care of us.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Came across Darren's Cafe by accident in our search for coffee and breakfast on our first ever visit to San Francisco and we were not disappointed. Food was excellent, coffee was the best we had in San Francisco (and we like our coffee) and really good service. We ate there every day for breakfast and were never disappointed. We thoroughly recommend this place. Enjoy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterMikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great value for the area!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We checked out Darren's after reading the reviews here. We actually ended up going there for two consecutive days. The location was very close to our hotel, and with the trip advisor city guide app that offers a 'point me there' we could find it since the signage isn't exactly very viewable from street level. Anyhow, they were pretty busy and the first day they had three ppl running around serving so the service was sufficient. We ordered one rare beef and beef ball pho and the Dungeness crab Benedict. The noodles were superb - the broth was very flavorful and elegant. The beef wasn't rare by the time it got to us, but it was still good. The beef balls were nice and bouncy; not over cooked or poorly flavored. The Dungeness crab was very good as well; the crab was flavorful and sat nicely atop a large heap of hash browns. The second day we tried something else: veggies Lo mein and a ground beef three egg scramble with mushrooms and spinach. I was not a big fan of the scramble; the meat had no flavor and it seemed to lack personality. The Lo mein was very bland at first, but after mixing everything up it was better. There was: green peppers, mushrooms, a few broccolis, a few stalks of bok choy, etc. I ended up having more if that than the scramble, which was fine by my boyfriend as well... In general, it's great to be able to have a sit down meal that doesn't cost you am arm and a leg for the fishermans wharf area :) I think I might go back for the pho again before this trip ends.... Mmmm yummy....

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank izuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A lucky find close to the wharf”
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Stumbled across this place while looking for a place to have breakfast.

Huge choice, very big portions and very tasty. The sort if breakfast that keeps you going until dinner.

Priced reasonably with quick attentive staff .. Your coffee cup is never empty for long!

Worth a try and won't cost you much to enjoy a hearty breakfast.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CLGCLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darren's Cafe also viewed

San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Darren's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing