We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best Ice Cream in SFO” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Norman's Ice Cream and Freezes

Norman's Ice Cream and Freezes
Ranked #4 of 137 Dessert in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream in SFO”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was the best ice cream we had during our trip! It's a hidden gem in The Cannery. Their Rocky Road is made with Walnuts, like it used to be made in the old days. Bring Cash.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Connie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    42
    12
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
83 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“It's just ice cream”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I read the reviews of Norman's so I added it to the list of stops while visiting Fisherman's Wharf. We found it in the Cannery Bldg. It's a tiny ice cream shop with about 16 or so flavors. I got the coconut which was yummy but nothing spectacular. Not sure what others were raving about. If your in the mood for ice cream, stop in but don't make a special trip.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DeerBio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Norman's ice cream is absolutely yummy. It's made fresh every day and you can taste that. There's a vast choice of tastes and they all are equally good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Norman's Ice Cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

1st- its hard to find somebody nicer than Norman. He goes out of his way to accomodate. He Made sure we had water when we left and i enjoyed chatting with. Him. We walked a little over a mile for this Sundaie.

Helpful?
Thank hilltopfwb
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great icecream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

A small shop tucked away... But find it, this was the best icecream I've had in a long time 2 scoops with their chocolate sauce amazing.. Friendly service too

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DJH1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norman's Ice Cream and Freezes also viewed

 

Been to Norman's Ice Cream and Freezes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing