We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Best Bay Area Tours
from $139.00
More Info
from $159.00
More Info
from $89.00
More Info
Reviews (715)
Filter reviews
704 results
Traveler rating
618
50
14
11
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
618
50
14
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews muir woods and sonoma wine tour day trip cheese factory small group great tour jacuzzi winery el capitan the golden gate bridge passenger van yosemite tour sonoma square wine country comfortable van giant sequoias highly recommend this tour tour price
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 704 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

Firstly, Phil was a fantastic driver and tour guide! He has so much knowledge and is genuinely interested in what he talks about and that really shines through. We had a beautiful day out at Yosemite, one we'll never forget, such an awe inspiring place to visit.

The only let down was the old Mercedes Van we were transported in. It was sadly not a good ride for us 4 in the back row, very, very squishy and noisy. We went to the Grand Canyon in a similar bus but it was much more accommodating and spacious. I would suggest an upgrade, or, not allowing 4 adults of average build sitting in the back, it really should only be for children as it was just extremely uncomfortable for the amount of time we had to endure back there.

If they made the necessary changes I would definitely take this tour again.

Thanks

1  Thank Critique411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago

We were visiting from the UK and booked this day trip to Yosemite as they only took small groups, which we thought would be ideal.
Our day started with a 6am pick up from our Hotel in a Mecerdes Sprinter mini bus. We made another hotel pick up a few blocks away and then we set off for Yosemite with only 7 passengers.
Our driver Brian explained that we'd be making a 20 - 30 minute comfort stop approximately half way there. We stopped at a larger supermarket (Raley's) at Oakdale, which had a great selection of snacks, hot food and drinks available at reasonable prices.
During the drive Brian played a number of informative documenteries that provided great information on Yosemite and the climbers that have scaled the various peaks there, which passed the time nicely.
We arrived at the park after approximately 3.5 hrs and Brian escorted us around several vistas, providing us with loads of informative info. We had appoximately 2 hours in the area around the visitor centre on our own to take lunch and explore this area before meeting back up with Brian and moving to yet more stunning view points.
We left the park at around 4:45 and got back to Fisherman's Wharf at around 8:30pm.
It was a full day, but well worth it!
Pictures of the park don't do it justice - you have to see it for yourself to appreciate the immense beauty of the place. I'd definitely recommend going with Best Bay Area Tours as we always seemed to be ahead of the big bus tour groups.

Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

What a great tour! Our guide Paul was fantastic! A great Scot with tons of information about San Francisco and the Russian River Valley. He took us up to the Marin Hills with 50+ mile hour winds and beautiful views of San Francisco bay in the Golden Gate bridge, and the World War II bunker. Pointed out where star wars latest films or produced, all kinds of local landmark and house San Francisco has changed his own personal history which was fabulous.Onto the Russian River Valley into the redwoods in Armstrong Redwoods Park after a stop in a lovely little coffee shop. The redwoods hear I think are better than your words as they are taller, it’s quieter Plus Paul gives you these great little maps to try to see the “Game of Thrones” root ball and the largest tree, plus we saw a deer running through the area as the tour group bonded. We went to an extra winery that day that was biodynamic -Porter Creek-with incredible wines esp Pinot Noir. we thought the fog was coming in but it was actually the smoke from the Butte Camp Fire but he kept all of us calm as it was over 100 miles away. We went to harvest Moon, Taft and Kendall Jackson all of which had interesting tales to tell about the wine industry and how production is done. Plus loads of awesome wines. Paul had just as many stories as we went back to San Francisco and this was really the highlight of our trip to California. Even my daughter who wasn’t a big wine drinker had an awesome time. Made some friends on the tour we saw again in San Fran. Did a tour of Alcatraz and Muir Wood several years ago that paled in comparison to this awesome tour. Can’t say enough about how great this tour was a must if you are going to San Francisco!

Thank Hilltowner843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

This trip had 7 of us in the minibus from San Francisco. Our driver/guide was very friednly, cheerful and helpful. He was very knowledgeable about the history of the park and the general history of the Sierra Nevada ranges.
The pace of the tour was quite good with appropriate stops for refreshments and toilet visits.
We got a good amount of time in the park itself. The Scenery and the whole atomsphere of the park is just amazing

Thank SeshKomanduri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Six of us traveled together and had an exceptional tour of the Redwoods & Wine Country. The tour company was great to work with. The guide arrived on time and was very personable. The timing of all the day's activities was perfect with magnificent trees and fun wineries. At the end of the tour one in our party forgot their backpack in the tour vehicle. The tour guide on his own time and with his own vehicle returned to our hotel to bring the backpack. Above and beyond service. Highly recommend Best Bay Area Tours!

Thank Sightseer46835762300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Brian was our tour for the day and he really defined this tour. There was of total of 7 of us who travelled on the tour in a very comfortable bus. The road up to Yosemite was winding in one portion and as I suffered from motion sickness, I told Brian to quickly stop the bus to let me puke. He immediately did so and though I dirtied the bus in the process, he did not lose his temper nor patience. He was very fast to clean up the mess and offered me medication. He also offered me a seat in front. He rolled down the window to ensure I had sufficient air and kept checking if I was alright. The interesting things we did like using the telescope and binoculars Brian brought on the trip to watch climbers on Al Capitan was really fun! We are really impressed at how professional Brian was through the entire trip and the personal touches he put to the trip made it a special one for us worth remembering for a long time.

Thank iamskyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our guide Patrick was excellent. Even after 14 hours of driving he still had energy to talk and give us as much information as possible. Yosemite is probably the most beautiful place on the earth. The colors of fall makes it look unreal and another plus is that it is not as busy during this time of the year. You have to book this tour. I just wish I could have stayed there for couple of days, but I will be back.

Thank jasminatr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing day at Yosemite and music all the long day. Great stops for photos all the day long, great time planning and a small group. Highly recommend if you can afford one extra day in San Francisco.

Thank Maija L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose this tour due to the smaller numbers and more time off the bus and in the park and it was absolutely worth it. Our host was extremely knowledgable and very easy to get along with, his personal touches throughout the trip really enhanced the experience. We highly recommend.

Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a great day tour, although long. Joe our guide for the day kept us on time, informed and amused. We had a small group of six, so plenty of room on the bus to spread out. At the first stop the supermarket makes great fresh sandwiches which I recommend purchasing in advance for lunch so you have as much time as possible in the park walking and exploring. The Ansell Adams Gallery, although a reasonable walk from where we stopped for an hour at lunch was well worth a visit as there was some beautiful artwork from other artists. Joe kept a supply of water which was appreciated, and had binoculars so we could see the rock climbers. The walk to the giant redwoods was steep on the return but the trees are worth the effort. The only thing I could suggest as an improvement is a better location for the dinner stop, but its hard to please everyone. I would not recommend the mexican place, but again it might be what I chose.
This was a good company to do a small tour with and well worth the long drive as Yosemite is stunning.

1  Thank Joanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews