We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommend for tourists on a budget” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dick Lee Pastry

Dick Lee Pastry
Ranked #121 of 133 Bakeries in San Francisco
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Recommend for tourists on a budget”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

Dropped in for the $5.99 all you can eat dim sum buffet. The price is right for those on a budget and just wanting a quick dim sum lunch while touring Chinatown. Plenty of choices but nothing really 'wowed' us. Shrimp didn't taste fresh, the beef dim sum was better, but I have definitely had better steamed pork buns.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank terriam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    5
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly staff but mediocre food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

Stopped in to grab a quick bite during a whirlwind San Fran tour and was pretty disappointed. The $5.99 all you can eat buffet consisted of some standard fare dimsum and a hot table with 8 different dishes.

The owners spoke English and Chinese, very friendly but unfortunately the food was not up to even take-out par. Overly sour hot and soup soup, mushed up wontons in the wonton soup. The chicken wings were over salted and the pork and chicken dishes were just blah. For dessert there was some very dry sesame ball and again a salt undercooked egg custard.
They gave us 1 disposable paper plate and a plastic bowl that we had to reuse each time we refilled.

If you do eat here, the shrimp dumplings were ok and their tofu/pork buffet dish was also tasty over some rice. Avoid the soups and their chicken wings.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chri521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“NOT AMERICAN CHINESE FOOD!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

Many varieties of dim sum. Other authentic Chinese dishes. If you are looking for Americanized Chinese food, this is not for you. This is like walking into a small cafe in China. Simple atmosphere, low cost.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Harold C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

Amazing value. Several years ago, I paid $10 for an Indian food buffet with only 7 items. Dick Lee's buffet offers about 50 items for only $5.99! Included are about 10 different dim sum items. The food was tasty. I really liked the soup. The owners were friendly. I can't believe this exists in San Francisco, one of the most expensive cities in the world.

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank GeeSm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
city
Level Contributor
225 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Dick Lee Pastry Dim Sum Buffet is best avoided”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

Dick Lee Pastry used to be much better with crowds of customers lining up for their food products when they were located further up the street. Their food quality was excellent and and value was superb, the buffet was an after thought with only a few tables. Not any more when I visited them at their current location at 716 Jackson Street. Gone are the large volume of customers devouring up large volumes of piping hot, high quality food. Now the buffet is their main business with lots of tables and very few customers for their all-you-can-eat dim sum buffet for $5.99 plus tax. The quality and size of their food have both gone downhill. Hot tea is included at no additional charge. They charge for bottled water, locked restroom with USD 1 charge for non-customers.

We certainly didn't go away hungry, but we weren't very satisfied with their food. Someone came over to ask how we liked their food. I replied their food used to be much better when they were at their old location 777 Jackson St. I'm sorry to see this place decline, prefer they should have closed down at their old location with fonder memories.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank G L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dick Lee Pastry also viewed

 

Been to Dick Lee Pastry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing