We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable restaurant with excellent food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wayfare Tavern

Wayfare Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Wayfare Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #112 of 5,626 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Financial District
Cross street: Montgomery & Sansome
Transit: Muni: Clay & Montgomery stops; Sansome & Sacramento stops. Cable car stops one block away on California Street.
Description: A Tyler Florence restaurant.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Enjoyable restaurant with excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had a reservation and were seated promptly. The decor is very nice and we had a large, comfortable booth. The service is attentive but the pace was a little slow, with some delay before taking our order and until our food was served. We thought the food was very good and the desserts were excellent.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank brandenburg456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    339
    226
    93
    30
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
188 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Needs improvement don't bother there is much better available”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

I believe the staff here should be just completely retrained. For a celebrity chef's (Tyler Florence) restaurant our experience was one of the worst we have had in extensive traveling. Tyler needs to go see what is going on here and raise the standards to what I would like to think he intended. A. Arguments with 3 different people over seating- some just between them- not with us. B. undercooked fried chicken : how do you do that? C. Brussel sprouts that were rocks. D. Mashed potatoes so over salted as to be inedible. E. worst of all no captain Morgan for a rum & coke! Management tried to make up for the food part by bringing us substitute dishes we did not want or even eat . It got worse and worse when I tried to pay for what we did try to eat they embarrassed us by not charging us. They wanted us out of there as did we but I paid and tipped our waitress as it really wasn't her fault. Would I go back? Never. Should you go? Maybe after Tyler fixes it - if he even does. Sorry.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rawsco1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Convivial Wayfare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

A Saturday night visit with friends resulted in a very satisfying experience. Friendly and efficient service delivered in a warm, decidedly masculine setting. The cocktail menu is short and attractive. In today's world of overwrought "mixology", making simple cocktails well seems to have become the exception....my Negroni was perfect.
The opening popovers are excellent...warm and addictive. The menu is one that makes selection difficult due to the many modern american attractive offerings. Our selections included a deftly handled and generous serving of Tartar, less generous but excellent Bone Marrow, fresh delicious oysters and their famous Fried Chicken. The Chicken was as promised, flavorful and tender with a perfectly crispy crust. Our sides were Mashed and French Fried spuds, both wonderful. Dessert continued the quality and satisfaction with a superb Chocolate Cream Pie. Prices were a bit on the high side, but the quality and care unquestionable.
The wine list is domestic-centric and very well thought out, short enough to not intimidate, long enough to hold a vino-file's interest. The sommelier has built a list that is littered with the perfunctory Cloudy Bay, Sonoma Cutrer, and Montelenas, but these crowd pleasers are all quality. The rest of the offerings are thoughtful, creative and fairly priced.
All in all, an excellent experience. A great place for a group of freinds.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cadby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“LOVED the interior. LIKED the food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

The interior design is fantastic. Wonderful ambiance. The food, however, was just so, so. My boyfriend's fried chicken was the standout. The mac & cheese left a lot to be desired. My cauliflower soup was good but pretty bland. The kale salad was pretty good.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank saraemlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best Salad I Have Ever Had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

This place is famous for Burgers and Chicken but he Kale salad was the best I have ever had anywhere in the world. Friends all had burgers which looked great. I had the fried chicken, also outstanding. Great atmosphere, you need to book. A really fun casual atmosphere with great service. I would highly recommend.

Dont order the pumpkin side dish, to big and to sweet

Ed

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank edkhub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wayfare Tavern also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Wayfare Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing