We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Great Location !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Post Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Post Hotel
Ranked #183 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Great Location !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 months this summer while on my J1 (work an travel visa) in San Francisco. It was a great places to stay with such a convenient location so close to everything. The room was good and was cleaned once a week which was a bonus ! The hotel staff are all so friendly and helpful and assisted us whenever we needed anything. It was a bit pricey but you do save on transport costs. The shared bathroom and shower were cleaned a few times a day so there was no worry that they were ever going to be dirty. The shower is a power shower which was another bonus ! The kitchen facility was great but they do not have utensils so you have to buy them or bring them with you if staying for a long period. Overall great hotel and would definitely stay here again if i was ever back in San Francisco.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RLennon7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Post H, Guest Relations Manager at Post Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time out to write this review. I am so glad that you found your stay to be enjoyable and the location to be so convenient during your 3 months with us. We truly appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    40
    26
    17
    25
See reviews for
18
37
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zeist, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

Nothing bad to say about this Hotel. Price seems in line with location, which is less than 2 blocks from Union Square.
Rooms are clean. Finally no carpet but woody floor. Either we were lucky or every room is not noisy. In the hall you could hear loud tv from neighbours but in the room nothing.
Finally a fan on the ceiling instead of those misatable airco's. The bathroom ans esspecially the shower is really amazing!
Sometimes however you can smell smoke from other rooms in our room.
Alltogether; nice hotel on a great spot.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KramerremarK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Post H, Manager at Post Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Your thorough review is greatly appreciated! I am glad that you enjoyed the value and the convenient location of our hotel. However, we apologize for any inconvenience that you have encountered during your stay. We hope that everything turned out all right and we are looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

Comfy room and clean but not refined .A little over priced for somewhere to put your head for the night as out for the days .But ...... Great location and helpful staff and threw in a free breakfast voucher for us in the cafe next

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Clarry46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Post H, Guest Relations Manager at Post Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Let us thank you for choosing the Post Hotel. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay.

We thank you for appreciating our unbeatable location, and accommodating staff.

It was wonderful to have you with us. We hope that you will come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Århus
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

The lobby is small with old furniture and carpet. Behind the desk you will find a 24 hour reception, video survailance monitors and printed out notes saying stuff like "ALL ROOMS MUST BE PAID IN ADVANCE".

The elevator is so old that it is actually pretty cool.

You will find some guests on this hotel that do not look like your normal tourists or buisness travelers. They might occupy the cheaper rooms without private path. There is a shared kitchen also if you want to Cook your own food.

I had a deluxe room for 7 days. The room is very basic, but everything Works and it is clean. The internet was fast, free and worked all the time.

No problems with noice except for the pipes in the Building making strange sounds one of the nights.

You can go from the hotel to union Square without problems any time. Use Powell street if you want to go Down to market street without going through a lot of homeless people.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tausick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Post H, Guest Relations Manager at Post Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
We wish to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to review our property. We continually seek ways to grow and improve further, hence your feedback is of great value to us.

We are delighted to read that overall you had a pleasant experience at our hotel. Thank you so much for appreciating our accommodation and services which we take immense pride in, as well as our reasonable prices.

We hope you will choose to stay with us again the next time you are in town. It would be a pleasure to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I can't believe I was suckered into paying so much for this place. I thought I'd pay more since other cheaper hotels in SF had not been great, and this place was still more expensive while supposedly on sale - I had to pay in advance. It seems people live there, likely low-rent with shared bathrooms. "Hotel" room had its own bathroom thank God, but it wasn't clean. Found sticky stuff on bathroom floor and hairs that I cleaned up myself. The whole room was small so not much space to move and no desk to set up a laptop, while the bathroom was strangely spacious. Everything shoddily renovated. There were signs up for the residents to cooperate with the pest control company! I tried my hardest to leave the place after one night but due to external booking I was out of luck. It was hard to communicate with the front staff. Don't make the same mistake - there are real hotels even in this area that can be had for similar price (at least if you get a deal). Look for a nice lobby, good reviews and free wine hour if you're going off-brand (which most of the hotels in SF are). There are at least two more local hotel chains that offer good hotels as well.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Post H, Guest Relations Manager at Post Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience incurred during your stay. As we are after to provide quality service that all our customers deserve, we will surely not take for granted all your concerns regarding our rate, the cleanliness of our room and bathroom, and customer service. Rest assured that we will do our best to improve our services to serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Sundsvall
Level Contributor
86 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Great value for the money!
We had a room with an ensuite bathroom and were really impressed. The room is big and the tv have an endless option of channels. Near Union Square and when we were there, during Thanksgiving, we were invited to participate in the hotels thanksgiving dinner. (Unfortunately we couldn't since both of us had gotten sick days before). The staff is nice and there is a lot of dining options around the hotel.

Nice, clean and cozy room and a friendly atmosphere. One of the best hotels we stayed at in San Fransisco. .
Here's a pic http://beammedown.blogg.se/2013/november/hotell-hotell-hotell.html

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthonia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Post H, Guest Relations Manager at Post Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
We are pleased to know that you had a great stay at our hotel. It is our goal to always give what is best to all our customers, so we really appreciate that you recognized our room, bathroom, location, and customer service. Thank you for considering us as one of the best hotels in San Francisco. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The room is small but clean. The location is so good that it just take minutes to get to the shopping mall cluster. And good place to have food and everything. Adding the safe place. it is so good. I will choose this hotel again if I go next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellover_wwz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Post H, Guest Relations Manager at Post Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave this positive review about your recent stay. It is wonderful that you found our location so convenient and safe. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Union Square Plaza Hotel
Union Square Plaza Hotel
#185 of 236 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 478 reviews
Encore Express Hotel
#131 of 236 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
Chinatown
SF Plaza Hotel
SF Plaza Hotel
#207 of 236 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Layne Hotel
#205 of 236 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#81 of 236 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,081 reviews
The Dakota Hotel
#182 of 236 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Post Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Hotel

Property: Post Hotel
Address: 589 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1292
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Post Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Post Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing