We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for the price”
Review of Post Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Post Hotel
Ranked #191 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed July 19, 2011

This hotel is in a great location. It is within walking distance to Union Square and there is a bus stop right in front. I did not feel unsafe here at all. If you are looking for fancy, top of the line accomadations this is not the place for you. The room was basic and small, but clean and comfortable. I was worried about bedbugs after reading other reviews, but there were none. The only downside was that our room was facing the street which made for a noisy night. If possible request a room away from the street. Some rooms do not have a private bathroom so make sure to request that as well. Breakfast is not provieded but there is a cafe next door which was great.

I was able to stay in the city for a reasonable price and am very happy with my experience.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kianamaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 104 of 154 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2011

You paid 30 bucks for a room, what did you expect, at that price, a hotel loses it's status and because basically a residential hotel, as there price are lower, they can't compete with better bodied hotels in the area, that lower price also always attracts vagerants, when the outsides bad, the inside suffers, works care less about what there doing, your just another guest now,

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thehitman510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

The only hotel that was available during Oracle Open World. You have to use a community toilet and community shower. The only heat control is opening the window
The top floor has creepy permanent residents. I should have booked a room in Oakland and taken Bart.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCH_sr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

If you are a student, international, or just traveling with friend I would NOT recommend this hotel to ANYONE. By far the worse hotel in San Francisco. Many of my friend and I vist Post hotel Theres this indian guy who works at the front desk and just watches you like hes crazy, also the rooms and bathrooms are not that clean. Alfonso is one of the employers who work there I call to book a room one time and he yells at me and hangs up in my face. Call this number and see for yourself!
[-]

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo2010_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Isabel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
Thank makichan1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SebastienLilas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Layne Hotel
#202 of 230 in San Francisco
260 reviews
Music City Hotel
#116 of 230 in San Francisco
419 reviews
The Castro
Twin Peaks Hotel
Twin Peaks Hotel
#194 of 230 in San Francisco
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Union Square Plaza Hotel
Union Square Plaza Hotel
#188 of 230 in San Francisco
530 reviews
Union Square
SF Plaza Hotel
SF Plaza Hotel
#198 of 230 in San Francisco
459 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#127 of 230 in San Francisco
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Post Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Hotel

Address: 589 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1292
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $103 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Post Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Post Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing