We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed two nice dinners while visiting SF”
Review of Cafe De La Presse

Cafe De La Presse
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe De La Presse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #199 of 5,693 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: French, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Union Square
Cross street: Bush St.
Description: For centuries, cafes the world over have provided patrons with entertainment that draws on all walks of life. In these gathering places of art, politics, fashion, and everyday events, cafe-goers partake in a unique convergence of eclectic culture and traditional cuisine. Parisian-inspired Cafe de la Presse continues the trend with international literature, classic fare, and the age-old pastime of dining, relaxing, and conversing in a vibrant atmosphere.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
136 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Enjoyed two nice dinners while visiting SF”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This restaurant was just down the street from our hotel. We ate there our first night in SF. We enjoyed the food, ambiance and service, so we returned again for a second night before leaving SF. We were pleased again with our choice.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JDH_AustinTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    449
    198
    85
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Authentic French Bistro”
Reviewed January 28, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Good French food, great atmosphere, friendly and accommodating staff. We eat here frequently when we're in the Union Square area; it's convenient and always good.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eliot O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!”
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Recently visited San Francisco and stayed at hotel right across the road from Cafe de la Presse. Very lucky otherwise may not have discovered this great cafe. My family and I had breakfast here everyday for the 5 days we were in San Fran and worked our way through the breakfast menu. Highly recommend the eggs Benedict with salmon, absolutely yummy, as is the pain perdu (French toast) best I have ever had. The cafe has a great ambience, a very French feel and the staff are ver friendly and the service is good. Make sure you get there on your visit to SF.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank live2travel20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
786 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 474 helpful votes
“Expensive and Rude”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This place does a good business mainly because of the location and the French name. But prices are high and the wait staff can be rude. I found the toilets filthy. Eat elsewhere if possible.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoom_Gotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteo, North Carolina
Level Contributor
249 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Lovely Cafe”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Excellent choice for breakfast. Right across from Chinatown entrance. Excellent service & food. Clean restrooms.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sweetsugartree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe De La Presse also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Cafe De La Presse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing